Interview With Author Jean C. Joachim (Rescue My Heart, Contemporary Romance)

A sihouette of a man on a bike with a woman standing above him.

My Picture Jean J

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

Rescue My Heart is a book about love, different kinds of love – romantic love, of course, by also the love friends have for each other, and the love a person can share with a dog.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

It’s a contemporary romance.

 

Is this book part of a series?
Yes, it’s the first book in the Manhattan Dinner Club series. Each book is about a different member of the dinner club. But all the members appear somewhat in each book as they are close friends and a supportive group.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?
Inspiration for the series came from what I thought I’d do if I was single. I’d plan to get together with other single friends for dinner once a week at each person’s house. How cool it would be to make dinner for four once a month and go out three nights? And to be eating with others and sharing your lives as well as food. The inspiration for the book came from combining my love of pugs with my resentment of the reckless bike riders in Central Park.

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

I was always a storyteller. Even as a child. I’d make up stories and act them out with friends. Then I started to write some down. Life intervene and I pursued writing in a more practical way – nonfiction. Then two characters landed on my shoulder when I had some free time. They refused to leave until I told their story. And I’ve been telling theirs and others ever since. Nonfiction turned to fiction for me about five years ago.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

There’s nothing quite like receiving your first publishing contract. The fact that someone else loves your story enough to publish it is a high not to be believed. And it continues to occur with every new contract.

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?
I am a hybrid. I’ve been pubished by Big Five, and now am by a small press. I also have a couple of self-pubbed books that didn’t fit into my publisher’s schedule. I am blessed to be with the best publisher around, Secret Cravings. Very author oriented. My self-published books are also dear to my heart.  Since I come from a marketing background, getting those books out there has not been a problem for me.

 

What are you working on now?
I’m working on a new series of football romances called First & Ten. The first book in the series, Griff Montgomery, Quarterback, is in edits now. I’m about halfway through writing the second book, Buddy Carruthers, Wide Receiver. Griff’s book is scheduled to release in February.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.
I’m a rather odd combination of loner and social animal. I am happy to spend time alone, lots of time. I’m never bored as my imagination will take me anywhere in the world whenever I need it to. I also love to be with friends, people I like and trust. Nothing’s more fun than a dinner with friends, wine and laughing until you cry.

I’m married and have two grown sons who are on their own, and a rescued pug, named Homer. He is my muse and stays with me wherever I am. I live in Manhattan most of the year and flee to a small cabin in the woods during the summer. The birds and the quiet life there are perfect for writing and reading.

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?
I adore my sons and jump at the chance to spend time with them. I have a sweet tooth. I adore black licorice and almost any kind of cake. I’m a pretty good cook, but am a little burned out with it now. Still love to prepare holiday meals. I love walking in the country or Central Park or almost anywhere. I dislike cruel and selfish people. I’m suspicious of people who don’t like dogs. I love to read, watch football, play board games and do jigsaw puzzles. Favorite on a winter weekend afternoon? A bowl of homemade chili or stew, a puzzle set up in front of the TV and a football game playing. Ah, heaven!

 

How can readers connect with you?
I’m everywhere!

Website

Amazon Author Page

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

I love to chat with readers.

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?
I studied piano for three years. I’m not proficient, but can plunk out a tune or two.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

How grateful I am for them. Reaching people’s emotions, their hearts through my stories is the most gratifying part of writing for me.

 

Purchase Rescue My Heart at:

Amazon

iTunes

All Romance Ebooks

Barnes and Noble

Secret Cravings Publishing

 

3 thoughts on “Interview With Author Jean C. Joachim (Rescue My Heart, Contemporary Romance)

  1. Thank you so much for having me on your blog today. This was a very thought-provoking interview. I couldn’t just dash it off. Well done! I hope you enjoy what I have to say.

Leave a Reply

