Interview With Author Cate Dean (Final Hours, Romance)

917+NYS0+oL._SL1500_

cate_dean_author_photo_new

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

Final Hours is a romance first, with two people finding each other under extreme circumstances. It also has loads of action, and is set against the backdrop of World War II England.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

It is romantic suspense, and time travel, as well as being a straight-up romance.

 

Is this book part of a series?

Yes it is! It’s book one of a now completed series – Love in Time.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?

I am a huge history buff, especially British history. A trip to Dover Castle, for research on a book that didn’t get written, sparked the storyline for Final Hours. Several research trips later, I was ready to write it. I am an on the ground writer – I have to experience the locations first hand. Every place Kane and Elizabeth go in the series, I’ve been there, more than once. I love research. 🙂

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

I have been writing, in some form, since first grade. It turned serious a few years ago, and I published my first story on Amazon in February 2012. It has been a wild ride since then, but I have met so many amazing people, and interacted with readers whose joy simply takes my breath away.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

A review I received on a blog recently, unsolicited. It was for the first book in my paranormal series, and it was so lovely, it literally brought me to tears. I read it every time I need motivation.

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I am self-published. It was a conscious decision, made after months of research, and several attempts at traditional publishing. I love being in control of every aspect of my career, and the team I’ve assembled – my editor, my cover designers, my critique partner – have all been amazing. It’s long hours, but I love the process of creating, of putting down the stories that are in my head. To have other people read them, and fall in love with characters that have been part of my life for years – that is a thrill that never gets old. I do get asked if I would ever go the traditional route – right now, I’m having far too much fun on my own, but if the right offer came along, I would seriously consider it.

 

What are you working on now?

I am working on two new series, a YA fantasy, and a paranormal romance/mystery. The prequels for both are out now, and I plan on releasing book one of the fantasy series in January, and the paranormal romance/mystery in March. I am having a blast with both of them!

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I am a travel addict, a photographer, a rabid Anglophile. I travel on my own, and have for more than seventeen years. I spend most of that travel time in England, with Wales and Scotland as side trips. There is so much to see, so many castles to explore, and so much history. I have been a photographer since sixth grade, and the photos I take on my journeys are some of my favorite souvenirs. I also love to read, pretty much anything I can get my hands on, fiction and nonfiction. I started reading when I was five, and I haven’t stopped. 🙂 I am also a huge Doctor Who/Torchwood fan, and I have been to Cardiff twice, to see Cardiff Bay and The Doctor Who exhibition. I even touched a TARDIS. (Shhhh – don’t tell anyone.)

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?
Likes: Earl Grey tea, with a view of the English countryside; a good movie that pulls me right into the story; spending time with my four nephews
Dislikes: negativity; mean people; the word no

 

How can readers connect with you?

Website

Goodreads

Facebook

Twitter

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I am a direct descendent of Betsy Ross, on my mom’s side.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Thank you! You continue to delight and surprise me. I am thrilled when you take the time to contact me, and tell me how much you enjoy my books. I have laughed, sighed, and been moved to tears by your emails and comments. I want you all to know that I love sharing my stories with you, and meeting you online or in person means so much to me. I plan on sharing many more stories in the future – they are clamoring to be heard, and I’m typing as fast as I can to get them out. I feel so blessed, to be living my dream. Without all of you, it wouldn’t be possible, so thank you!

 

Purchase Final Hours at:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Kobo

 

3 thoughts on “Interview With Author Cate Dean (Final Hours, Romance)

Leave a Reply

