Interview With Author Lucy Varna (Tempered, Paranormal Romance)

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000030_00047]

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

Paranormal romance

 

Is this book part of a series?

Yes, the Daughters of the People Series.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?

Hawthorne, one of the main characters, appeared briefly in the first book in the Daughters of the People Series. I kept coming back to her, wondering what her story was and why she was the way she was. Eventually, another character popped into my head, Aaron Kesselman, a comic book illustrator, and I realized he was the perfect man to help Hawthorne overcome the hardships she’d endured in her long, long life. One thing led to another and Tempered was the result. This story was completely unplanned, but it turned out to be a lovely surprise.

 
What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

Both. I’ve wanted to write fiction since I was a teenager, but the real breakthrough happened late in 2013 when I finally figured out what I needed to do in order to write a full-length novel.

 
So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

Any time a reader gets in touch with me and tells me how much they enjoy reading my stories! Those are truly the best moments.

 
Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I’m self-published. Prior to jumping into fiction, I wrote non-fiction under my “real” name, part of which was self-published. I enjoyed having creative control of my work, and though I knew (through extensive research) that self-publishing fiction would provide a different experience, I decided that I’d rather go that path and do most of the work myself rather than relying on a traditional publisher or small press. Right now, I’m still publishing non-fiction, as well as publishing fiction under three pen names, including Lucy Varna, and I love it. I love the freedom of writing what I’m called to write; I love the freedom of choosing my own path. That said, it’s also a lot of hard work. I’m the one responsible for every aspect of each book, from finding good editors and cover designers to marketing and advertising. Self-publishing isn’t for the timid!

 
What are you working on now?

Right now, I’m completing the first draft of the next book in the Daughters of the People Series, In All Things, Balance, which I hope to release early next year.

 
What are some of your likes and dislikes?

I love to read! My favorites are mythology (non-fiction and fictionalized), SciFi, Fantasy of all kinds, including epic and urban, paranormal, suspense, and, naturally, romance. I also enjoy movies (especially SciFi and action) and music, including rock and roll both old and new, classical, and some dream pop. In my spare time, I knit and do other needlework. If I have access to a TV, I like to watch men’s college basketball. Go Duke!

As far as dislikes go, my number one dislike is shopping, unless books, music, or yarn is involved. Grocery shopping isn’t so bad if I can avoid the crowds, but malls are absolute nightmares. Thank goodness for the Internet!

 
How can readers connect with you?

Website

Facebook 

Newsletter Sign-Up

Goodreads

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Thank you for reading the Daughters of the People Series!

 

Purchase Tempered at:

Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

