Interview With Author Joan Ellis (The Killing of Mummy’s Boy, Psychological Thriller)

front cover- killing mummys boy

JOAN ELLIS 1PB

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

The Killing of Mummy’s Boy is nerve-shredding. So much so, my neighbour has banned his wife from reading it on the grounds it is ‘too terrifying’.

When a respectable middle-aged woman discovers she is being stalked, she turns to a stranger for help, with horrific consequences. The book is laced with fear and hate but love lies at its black heart.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

Psychological thriller

 

Is this book part of a series?

Not currently but it could be!

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?

I met a man on a train who told me he had slit someone’s throat. I didn’t dare move seats in case he followed me. Trapped opposite him for almost two hours, I was terrified and disgusted by what he told me but never bored.

What better opening for a book?

Chapter one is virtually word for word what happened to me that day. The killer even asked me to run away with him. Obviously, I declined but I got to thinking – what would make a respectable middle-aged woman go with a murderer?

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

I was an award-winning advertising copywriter and columnist so have always earned my living from writing. I also wrote and performed comedy sketches.

When I was a kid in the 60s, we couldn’t afford a television. My grand-dad persuaded me to join the library. Free books! I was in heaven. I started to read and never stopped.

Life in Adland during the 80s was as funny as it was frustrating for a girl in a man’s world. My first novel, I am Ella. Buy me is based on that mad, bad time. It’s very different to The Killing of Mummy’s Boy.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

Reading at the Isle of Wight Literary Festival this year was pretty special. For the past two years I had been in the audience; being on stage as a speaker was a dream come true.

But I topped that last week when I performed at a spoken word event. My 88-year-old Mum was in the audience and I read a piece I had written especially for her. When all my teachers had given up on me, she taught me to spell; without her patience none of this would have happened.

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I am self-published. Having spent three years writing, I wanted my work to be read. Two books in two genres, so whether you want a laugh or to be terrified, there’s one for you! Touring, both physically and online, is fun. It’s great to see people’s reactions to the characters. When I do a live gig, I love hearing the audience laugh or gasp in fright. A virtual tour allows me to interact in other ways and give exclusive behind-the-scenes glimpses into the bigger story.

 

What are you working on now?

Putting the finishing touches to two new books.

Guilt – psychological thriller

Seven-year-old Susan is alone with her younger brother when he dies of an overdose. The guilt informs the rest of her life. When it threatens to destroy not only her but also her family, she must set out to discover the truth.

The Things You Missed While You Were Away – memoir

Based on the column I wrote about my daughter, this fun-filled memoir is for anyone who has been a child. A glimpse into my upbringing in the 60s and my daughter’s in the 90s, proves when we lose someone special, love comes from unexpected places to fill our hearts.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

An ex-mother-in-law (I’ve been married 3 times) once described me as ‘a nightmare.’ I’d go along with that, I’m very driven which must be very wearing. And I can turn nasty if I haven’t had my cake fix.

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?

Love: writing, laughing, being with family and friends, swimming in the sea, picnics on the beach, the theatre, chocolate, cake and cats.

Loathe: Injustice, violence, death, unkindness, cruelty, pettiness, lies, being ripped-off.

 

How can readers connect with you?

On my website: www.joan-ellis.com

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I went on holiday to Spain with 50 Shades of Grey author, E.L. James.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Don’t read ‘The Killing of Mummy’s Boy’ alone! And please get in touch, I’d love to know what you think.

 

Purchase The Killing of Mummy’s Boy at:

Amazon UK

Amazon

2 thoughts on “Interview With Author Joan Ellis (The Killing of Mummy’s Boy, Psychological Thriller)

Leave a Reply

