Interview With Ashley Nemer (Under The Moonlight: A Mermaid’s Tale, Romance)

Under the Moonlight

Me

 

In your own words, please describe your book.
This is a story of Zara, a mermaid, who on her 22nd birthday will have to make a choice to stay a mermaid forever or join the humans and only be able to return to the sea once a month. What Zara doesn’t know is her fate was pre-set and she has been promised to “The Son of Satan”, Hades son. Now Zara has to find a way to break this curse her grandmother set on her many many years ago. All while she is falling in love with a sailor named James.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?
Romance, Mythology, Fantasy

 

Is this book part of a series?
I do not have any plans to make this a series but you never know when that bug will bite that makes me want to write more of a certain character.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?
Funny story – my friend, Jennifer, she goes “I need a mermaid story. The character is Zara and her love interest is James. Oh yeah, and Hades is involved. And it has to have crazy wild mermaid sex.” And from that one email, this little novella has been born. Although the ‘crazy wild mermaid sex’ didn’t quite happen, it does get rather hot.

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?
I have always been super creative but the writing portion didn’t strike until junior high and high school. My actual writing of stories came about in 2010 when I became unemployed due to the economy like so many Americans and all the sudden I had hours upon hours on my hand and thus, the big bang of writing hit me.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
There have been a lot of ‘whoa’ moments but the best moment has to be when I was doing an interview with Lucie for her blog and my biggest fan Laken called in and she and I finally got to speak for the first time after two years.

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?
I have 14 titles that I self-publish and 1 title I have with a small-press. My first three stories I had sent to a publisher and they were accepted and two were published. However I did not like how they were marketing my stories so I bought my rights back and proceeded to put them out on my own. I keep my short story, Soul Mates with a publisher because I wrote that with a friend of mine and it is easier to have someone else handle the taxes. Haha. But I seriously love Secret Cravings Publishing. They have been great for Soul Mates and I recommend them to anyone looking to have their story published by a small-press.

 

What are you working on now?
Every November I participate in NaNoWriMo and I write the series, Maverick Touch during this time. So today (10/26) I am planning what I want to happen in Maverick Touch: The Adventure.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself. 
I am a shy girl from Houston who has too much time on her hands! Just kidding. I actually used to be extremely shy but that quickly left once my Debate life started in High School. Now I am a social butterfly who likes to dabble in a lot of different things. I have been with my husband over ten years; we have two dogs, Toto and Doogie. These three take up my whole world. We love Houston and hope to soon adopt our first child. I love writing. It is my escape from chaos. But most of all I love spending time with family and friends.

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?
I love purple, Dr. Pepper, Sweethearts and Reece’s.

I hate ants and spiders …..

 

How can readers connect with you?
I have like a million different ways. Here is the list. I also write my erotic line of stories under my pen name Niki Becker.

The Art of Safkhet

Ashley’s World

Niki Becker

Ashley Nemer – Author Facebook

Facebook Friend Page

Memories in a Box Blog

Twitter

Ashley Nemer Amazon Author Page

Niki Becker Amazon Author Page

Ashley Nemer Goodreads

Niki Becker Goodreads

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?
I am a 2nd degree decided black belt in the American Taekwondo Association

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?
Never give up.

 

Purchase Under The Moonlight: A Mermaid’s Tale at:

Amazon
Barnes and Noble
iTunes
Kobo
Smashwords

Leave a Reply

