Interview With Author D.E. Haggerty (Life Discarded, Suspense)

Cover 2.0

author photo

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

Life Discarded is the story of a woman who throws her life away in a very disturbing manner. The story starts with our heroine, Morgan, fleeing her life and then goes back two years to follow how her life fell apart. We learn about her so-called perfect marriage and her not so wonderful after all husband.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

I primarily write suspense/thriller and mystery novels. My second book, Buried Appearances, was an historical mystery and I’m now working on an historical spy/suspense.

 

Is this book part of a series?

No.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?

This story had a very macabre start. My colleague commented on 9/11 that he wondered what it would be like if your friends/family thought you were in one of the collapsed towers, but you weren’t. You could just walk away from everything, he said. I found this an outrageous comment at the time, but it always stuck with me. The older I got the more I wanted to run away from life at times. But of course I couldn’t. I’m an adult and need to be responsible. I have family, friends, mortgage obligations, etc. I started to wonder what could happen – what could be so horrible – that you would walk away from your life, letting everyone think you were dead.

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

I’ve always written. When I was young, I wrote poems and stories all the time. Old friends with whom I’ve re-connected on Facebook comment that they remember me writing on the school bus in the morning. I had a bad experience with a teacher and stopped writing for a long time. After a career crisis, I decided to give writing a go again. I couldn’t be happier with that decision!

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

One evening I was drinking wine with my husband on our balcony and checking Amazon to see if I had sold any books that day. I saw I had sold over 350 books in one day! I was so excited! My husband thought there was a computer glitch.

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I am self-published. I initially tried to find an agent to help me navigate the publishing world, but I found it difficult to find an agent in the US when I was living in the Netherlands. I was also very easily discouraged, not realizing that it can take years to find an agent and publisher. I gave up and went back to working as a lawyer. After a few years, self-publishing e-books came into existence. I was very unhappy with the law and my husband suggested I try self-publishing – just to get my work out there. And here I am today!

 

What are you working on now?

I am working on a funny (I hope!) chick lit mystery novel. The heroine is a 40-year old widow that thinks her grandmother has been murdered. When the police don’t believe her, she tries to solve the mystery on her own. Let’s just say there is a lot of bumbling about.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I am a 40 plus woman that grew up in Wisconsin, but I’ve spent most of my adult life living in Europe. I spent 5 years in the U.S. Army as a military police woman, which was the inspiration for my first novel, Unforeseen Consequences. I studied History and Law and am very much a history geek. I worked as an IT-lawyer in the Netherlands for over a decade after which we moved to Germany where I set-up and ran a B&B. Running a B&B was not for me, but the off season gave me a chance to work on my writing. When my husband landed a job in Istanbul, I decided to follow him there and devote myself to writing full-time.

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?

Likes: Hunter – my adorable beagle-mix dog – as well as nearly every other dog in the world, running – preferably where there are no hills to kick my middle-aged butt, playing tennis – especially having a coffee with my tennis gal pals after a great game, enjoying a nice glass of rosé wine on the balcony as the sun sets over the sea

Dislikes: fake people, bad drivers, religious intolerance, racism, sexism

 

How can readers connect with you?

I’m available on most social media sites:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Blog

Goodreads

Pinterest

Google +

Amazon Author Page

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I like to sing out loud while running on the treadmill, which can lead to awkward situations when I forget that the apartment fitness is not my private gym.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Keep reading. Don’t be a genre snob. Every once in a while try a book from a different genre, you just might surprise yourself.

 

Purchase Life Discarded at:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Smashwords

Kobo

 

One thought on “Interview With Author D.E. Haggerty (Life Discarded, Suspense)

Leave a Reply

