Interview With Author A.L. Goulden (August Fog, Erotic Romance)

August_Fog_Cover

376133_2566099564191_906385439_n

 

In your own words, please describe your book.
August Fog is a daily account of Monica Waters, a thirty-something television editor in Los Angeles. She’s stuck at home recovering from a broken ankle and dealing with a few issues in her marriage when Quinn Matthews, an artist from NYC, moves next door. She’s very attracted to him, but his presence also reminds her of the shortcomings in her marriage and things she’s given up. Their friendship and eventually their gradual affair is just too close to home, literally. Monica really does love her husband and this situation tears her apart. The book is very erotic and emotional. I didn’t want a woman who just callously throws away her life-long commitment for instant love. This is a look at the complications of love.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?
Erotic Romance I guess due to the steam factor, but I think it also fits into Contemporary Romance.

 

Is this book part of a series?
Yes. It’s Book #1 in August Fog Series

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?
There is a little bit of real life in the story. I was laid up on the couch for a summer, forced to quit my job, because of three stress fractures in my ankle that wouldn’t heal. I was reading a lot to pass the time and eventually started writing. There really was a sexy neighbor, he really is an artist, but there was never really an affair. Luckily I’m married to a man that finds my overactive imagination amusing and he never once thought it was autobiographic.

So many of the books I was reading had a similar heroine who was “damaged” as well as the same alpha males. I wanted to build characters that were realistic and flawed to see if I could make them sexy as well. People you would know. Your best friend or coworker. Real life is complicated and real love is even worse. I knew Monica wasn’t always going to be likable. As much as we’d like to deny it, most of us aren’t when we’re going through life changes or stressful events. But that wasn’t a reason not to connect to her or even understand her. I didn’t want a woman who just callously throws away her life-long commitment because she needs to have sex. Monica loves her husband. He’s her best friend. But she realizes that she wants more than a friend and Quinn reminds her that she’s more than just this wife.

I struggled with the premise of an artist, because it’s been done so many times and is a little cliche. But I know a lot of real artists, painters, sculptors, whose lives are very free and I wanted Quinn to have that. It’s an element in Monica’s past that she let go of and forgot about. So, I looked at it like another opportunity to take a cliche and make it more realistic. There are secrets behind him that will eventually test her ideas of freedom and trust. It’s all about her growing into who she is supposed to be and finding out in her mid-thirties that she hasn’t been honest with herself. I set out to create a story that touches on the complications of love and commitment.

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?
I’ve been writing casually since I was in fifth grade. My first story was about five fifth grade boys and an escaped con. Stories were the biggest reason I got into the film and television industry, but as a visual person I ended up in the art department. It’s only been the last few years that I was provoked to push myself to write novels.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
One of the first real “fans” I had of August Fog wrote a great review of my next book December Rain and admitted that she’s dreamt about one of my characters, Quinn. It was thrilling to know these characters are real to others and not just in my head.

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?
I’m self-published. I started with BookBaby to distribute to all eBook sellers and was very unhappy so I switched to Smashwords and Amazon Direct. I did research, but was still really green about the publishing experience when I started. I thought I would benefit from one central distribution option and was in turn taken advantage of in my opinion. I’m still learning every day. I honestly haven’t sent my work to traditional publishers or agents, but it’s not for any specific reason. Right now, I like learning some of the process on my own just to strengthen my sea legs.

 

What are you working on now?
I’m writing the final book in the August Fog series titled April Snow as well as a stand alone novel called Chasing Swells. I’m really excited about Chasing Swells because it’s so different from this series, but it will be a little sad to say goodbye those characters.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.
Hmm. I’m a Renaissance type, interested in so many things with too little time. As a designer and artist, an author, a wife and a dog-lover, I live in the South Pasadena area of California. I got my BFA in Film Production from the Academy of Art University in San Francisco and find that every creative turn in my life links to the next. I’m a bit of a control freak, yet I love unknown adventures like road trips and new jobs.

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?
Likes (or LOVES):

Chocolate – The darker the better!
Cooking – Anything I can do in a dutch oven or cast iron skillet.
Complicated characters with mystery. – Not all has to be unveiled to me.
Movies – I am a film-o-holic.
Laughter – Life is too short to live without it.

Dislikes:

Instant Love in romance novels. (Lust is okay though.)
Overreactions
Assumptions (I’m guilty unfortunately.)
Chardonnay (One bad night can spoil it forever.)
Mean spirited people. (A no brainer though right?)

 

How can readers connect with you?

Website

Facebook

Twitter

GoodReads

Amazon Author Page

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?
I love to build things. I built the decks in our backyard by myself. It started as a dare, but I did it.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?
Thank you. Thank you for giving some of your time to hang out with me and my characters.

 

Purchase August Fog at:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Smashwords

iBooks

Diesel Books

txtr

 

Leave a Reply

