Interview With Author Sean Brogan (The Shadow’s Relic, Fantasy)

Shadow's Relic Book Cover

Headshot 2 Sean

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

Set in the late 1700’s, The Shadow’s Relic is about people who wouldn’t normally get along, having to cooperate in order to save the world. More specifically, the novel follows an archer and a former pirate – Kaie Ellinger and Curtis Reynolds – who must combine their strengths in order to defeat a super villain known mysteriously as ‘The Dark Warrior.’ What makes ‘The Dark Warrior’ so dangerous is not only his thirst for blood and power, but that he has stolen ‘The Shadow’s Relic’ – a treasure and ancient weapon so powerful that, in the wrong hands, could potentially destroy the world.

All in all, this book can best be described as fighting Armageddon with muskets and canons.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

The book would have to definitely fall under fantasy, adventure and alternate history.

 

Is this book part of a series?

Yes, this is the first in the series.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?

A lot of things came together to inspire me. Originally it was a short story idea I came up with while in film school that I gradually fell in love with and decided to expand. But also being a film major, I think a lot of the movies I saw, especially ones involving superheroes, inspired me to create the complex universe that the series is to be revolved around.

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

Being a film major, definitely, because I think planning a film forces you to think visually. I think to write a good book you need to be very visual to begin with, so working on films and writing screenplays really helped me get into the mindset. Also with character development, building story structure, setting the scene . . . I think that type of stuff really translates between the two mediums.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

When people I know have read the book and will come up to me and describe a certain scene to me. Just the fact they were able to get lost in the world and captured enough to discuss the characters shows the story at least resonates with them. It’s also pretty cool when somebody asks me “well, what happened to this character?” because I think it shows they care what happens to the people I wrote about.

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I am self published through Amazon and Lulu.com. And I want to say creative control led me, but to be honest I think to get published you need a very large fan base, or “platform.” But how does one establish a fan base without first being published, is the catch. So I think self publishing gives me the opportunity to build an amazing fan base and get my work shown. So self publishing is great because you do get to maintain the creative control you desire and, for me, it allows me to take the series in whichever direction I feel is best.

 

What are you working on now?

Almost a 100 percent on marketing and getting the word out. With the small time I’ve had, I have managed to at least start the first few chapters of the second book.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I currently prepare auto-cad presentations for a landscape design firm, but when I’m not working I can be found writing, taking down notes and honing ideas for future novels. I have a BFA in film and ever since I was young I’ve been fascinated with story structure, especially regarding “the hero’s journey.” So writing has definitely become a big part of my life and I plan to write at least four more books following the adventures of Reynolds and Ellinger, along with a multitude of other characters they meet along way.

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?

I like dinner with my girlfriend Kathleen, filming sketch comedy with friends and all of the Marvel superhero movies. I dislike cold weather, turkey bacon and a Vermont beer I once had called “Old Brown Dog.” Just saying . . .

 

How can readers connect with you?

Readers can check me out, and drop me a line, through the www.shadowsrelic.weebly.com website, and like the book at www.facebook.com/shadowsrelic

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I can play the entire opening to Piano Man by Billy Joel. That, and I plan one day to actually learn the rest of the song.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

That I hope they love the book! While it’s fantasy, it has a lot of real world elements I think people can relate to. There’s a lot of drama, humor, and all together a lot of heart. I hope people enjoy the book as much as I enjoyed writing it!

 

Purchase on Amazon

Purchase on LuLu

 

Leave a Reply

