Interview With Author N.S. Grimm (Snow Wars Book 1, Romantic Fantasy)

snow wars. book1.

headshot for web. 2014

 

In your own words, please describe your book.
It’s a fun read I think. That’s what I like to read when I buy a book- so I try to accomplish that as a writer also. A story needs to transport you to another place and you should enjoy hanging out there with the characters and the story. Not every book needs to be supper important to the world or make a huge earth shattering statement about mankind. Sometimes they can just be a good story on a rainy afternoon. As the Snow Wars series goes on and you get more involved with the characters and politics of the world of Snow Wars, bigger themes and mysteries do unwind, but there is always that basic story of the small village lost in the snow and the people who live there.

 


What genre/genres does your book fall under?
Fantasy, Romance Fantasy, Fantasy Adventure

 


Is this book part of a series?

Snow Wars is the first book in the Snow Wars series. Six books make up this series.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?
Freezing my butt off in Rockport Massachusetts last year- Ha! That is a joke, but it’s actually a bit true.

More seriously, I have a Masters in Public Policy (MPSA to be exact) so in my mind a lot of this story comes from the basic policy study of what can happen to a small village of people when they are completely cut off from the outside world. A story of how a controlling power (government, church, military, etc) can easily manipulate an entire group of people through the control of information. In Snow Wars, the environment is the element that isolates the people living in the Hive. The character of Iana slowly begins to realize that the world around her is not as limiting, or as simple to understand, as she was raised to believe. We get to explore, not just the fantasy world building aspect of Snow Wars, but the history of the political structure through her eyes in the series.

 


What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?
It is a lifelong love of stories, but one I didn’t feel right pursuing till recently. I had a lot of things I wanted to accomplish in my life and I took the time to do all those. I’m glad I waited a few years before writing since I think all those experiences make my storytelling richer.

I’m not pushing to write a ‘great American novel’ necessarily, but I’ve always had tons of stories in my head that wanted to get out. Last year, I had some extra time on my hands (for the first time in my life) and I thought “let’s try this”. A magical thing happens when you actually finish that first book (no – not the masochistic editing process– although that is what happens next) but reality slightly shifts with the knowledge that ‘you can do it- you can actually write a book’ and for me, from that point on, I was totally lost to it. All the stories I’ve had in my head all these years now demand to be written – and they are very impatient.

 


So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
The first contact with a reader about a books, for sure.

It’s very satisfying to write a book and to see the cover art for the first time is thrilling. When you publish that book and see it available to readers…. it’s all amazing of course.

But that really is nothing compared to hearing from readers. It’s not about hearing blanket praise- I hate that stuff. I love hearing their different interpretations of the story, what parts they liked and hated, what they thought was funny, what they want to happen next, and which characters are their favorite. Everyone is so different and those are the things that make me giddy inside- hearing about those type things from readers. I learn a lot from them. I get a lot from them.

 


Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I self-publish all my novels. I really love being hands on with all the aspects of the novel. I think it makes me a better author in the long run since I really get to understand the industry and the readers better when you are involved in that way. Of course, I have a wonderful team for editing and marketing so I’m not all alone on an Island by myself- I have lots of help. Self-publishing has really opened doors for both authors and readers. Writers are now able to get more stories out to readers than ever before. I’m loving it as a reader myself and I love it as an author. I think there is enough room for both publishing houses and self-publishers; it’s a big world after all.

 

What are you working on now?

I’m writing as fast as I possibly can right now.

I am about half way through the forth book in of the Snow Wars series. It’s titled Ramblers and I hope to have it out around Jan. 2015. I thought the 3rd book, Daughters of Adam, was my favorite book of the Snow Wars series, but I think Ramblers may end up my new favorite….I can’t wait till it’s finished and out for readers!

I’m working with editors to polish up some deleted chapters from the third book of Snow Wars, Daughters of Adam. That novel ran much longer than planned, so I trimmed everything I could to keep the pace moving as much as possible. I plan to post the deleted chapters on my blog/website for readers who want more.

I just finished a Novella in the “Baby Maker” series (a romance genre series I also write) called “Sister Start Up” which should publish at the end of this December

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

Funny Facts about N.S. GRIMM and her writing.

  • Most of her female leads have green eyes (like Grimm herself.)  If you find a female lead who doesn’t have green eyes– there is a deliberate reason, so watch for it.
  • She thinks, hot kettle corn from a state fair or rodeo is the best stuff on earth to clog your arteries with.
  • Although she is from the South, she does not like ‘sweet tea’; which caused serious shunning at certain gatherings growing up.
  • She never considered herself pretty, smart, nor particularly talented growing up, which might explain why, in her books, she tries to make all her characters attractive in at least one way and why her favorite characters are still the ones who aren’t.
  • She can only seem to get a good night’s sleep in old structures (houses, apartments or hotels.)  New construction doesn’t seem to have enough spirit in them for dreaming.
  • She bought her house in Galveston, TX after reading Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen.  It doesn’t have an apple tree in the backyard, but she’s convinced it’s magical.
  • She is allergic to sulfur, which means – tragically- she cannot drink wine or champagne.  This is something that makes her very, very, very, very sad. So she’s forced to drink Gin instead- poor GRIMM.
  • She has lived next to the water for so long now, that it is physically painful for her to be away from it for any extended length of time.
  • Supposedly, she had an ancestor who was hung beside Jean Lafitte for being a pirate…supposedly… however, no one knows if he was a pirate, or just hung next to a pirate.
  • All N.S. GRIMM novels start out as a fully outline series before they become novels.  The only exception (so far) is Snow Wars book one, which was written in a stream of conscious style (no outline) and only later became a multi-book outlined series.
  • By blood, she is made up of, German, French and a little bit of Irish (which is that feisty spirit in her.)  She likes to shop and dress like the French, drink like the Germans and she is dying to visit Ireland ~~ but terrified that when she does – she might never come back.
  • One of her favorite things to do is bake herself on a rock like a lizard.  Who doesn’t love being supper warm?
  • She has been in more than a few sandstorms, one official blizzard, one seriously shaking earthquake in Japan and multiple Texas hurricanes.
  • The thought of death does not scare her (Yes, she knows that is unnatural.)
  • Although most of her heroines start out not believing in soul-mates, GRIMM knows they are real.
  • As long as she has five hours of sleep, she can wake herself up at any randomly predetermined time in the morning without an alarm clock. But she sets an alarm when people are visiting, so they don’t think she’s weird.
  • She has lived in three countries so far and hopes to live in three more before she dies, but she will always be a true red-blooded American in her heart no matter where she lives.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Life Without Love Would be Grimm – no matter what, keep loving and keep reading!

 

How can readers connect with you?

Official Website of NSGRIMM

Facebook

Blog

Email: NSGRIMM100@gmail.com

Amazon Author Page

Barnes & Noble Author Page

 

Purchase Snow Wars, Book One at:

Kindle

Nook

 

One thought on “Interview With Author N.S. Grimm (Snow Wars Book 1, Romantic Fantasy)

Leave a Reply

