Interview With Author Michelle Diana Lowe (The Glass Heart Girl, Women’s Fiction)

IMG_0595

IMG_0663

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

The Glass Heart Girl is a powerful story about 20 year old Alena Pavlis, who is desperately trying to move on with her life, following a traumatic childhood. She goes to the University of Leicester, where she meets the gorgeous Phillip Gregson and best friend Becca. It is not before long that Alena is fighting for her freedom from the past, which is hell-bent on destroying and consuming her. As the ghosts of yesterday swamp her consciousness and psyche, she suffers terrible flash backs of the past, debilitating panic attacks and phobias, which make it difficult for her to live a normal and healthy life. And soon enough she meets a dangerous crossroads, where her and Phillip’s relationship is at breaking point. It is then that she has to decide to either banish the demons forever and embrace true love, or let the spirits of yesterday devour her. Can the power of true love and a strong friendship really heal, and ultimately save her?

This story is a riveting one, marking Alena’s painful yet spiritual journey to recovery.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under? Women’s fiction.

 

Is this book part of a series?

No it is a standalone book.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?

I support vulnerable young women like my protagonist, Alena, who are sad and broken and want to rebuild their lives. In my job as an Administrator, I signpost and refer these women to appropriate services such as Family Support and counselling. This story is dedicated to them. It is giving them a voice, a right to tell their story. It is giving them a right to be in centre stage and be heard, so they can share their experiences with the world. In time, with the right support, these women can work through their issues and problems, and look towards a brighter future.

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

I have been writing since I was six years old. Writing is my passion. I could not imagine living my life without writing in it. I have always wanted to be an author from day one.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

Making such amazing friendships and connections through Twitter. I am blessed to have such a supportive network. Apart from that, I would say, being discovered by BNBS (Britain’s Next Bestseller). They are the first ever publisher to sign me and take a real interest in my work and what it represents.

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I am a published author. I have had two novellas published by a digital publisher. But my first novel, ‘The Glass Heart Girl’, is neither self-published or published. I am pursuing a publishing deal with BNBS (Britain’s Next Bestseller), and hope I can secure my 250 pre-order target to seal this publishing contract.

 

What are you working on now?

I have just started a novella series called ‘The Oracle Series’, which is about a young oracle on Earth, discovering who she is, in a world of darkness and chaos. ‘Fate Of The Oracle’, the first in the mini series, is out on Amazon September 30th.

 

Please tell you about yourself…

I was born and grew up in East London. Currently, I live in a vibrant town in the heart of East London. I have enjoyed writing stories since I was a small child, and as an adolescent, I received quite a lot of praise at school for creative writing projects and assignments.

In 2005, when I graduated from the University of Roehampton with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English Literature and Philosophy, I finally found my true literary voice. I wrote my first book professionally in January 2014, after the death of a dear friend. My book, ‘Heaven Calls For An Angel, was a tribute to her memory.

I wrote ‘The Glass Heart Girl’, my most recent novel, to raise awareness of issues relating to gendered violence and I am fortunate enough to have been signed by BNBS, who believe in my book and its mission. I am so happy that I am in a position to make people more aware of important women’s issues through my book. As my day job as an administrator, I support vulnerable women like Alena, my protagonist, in ‘The Glass Heart Girl’, so it is wonderful to share their experiences with the world and to help empower women who have suffered gendered violence. I continue to support both Cancer Research UK and also The Women and Girls Network, who provide life-changing services and support for female victims of domestic and gendered violence.

 

How can readers connect with you?

Website

Twitter

Facebook

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I like to smile a lot! Even when I’m annoyed, I still have a smile in my face! It makes the world a brighter place 😀

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

First of all, thank you to all my readers who have taken the time and effort to read my books, especially The Glass Heart Girl, which has such an important message of hope to share with the world.

Secondly, if you have a dream, make sure you try your hardest never to let it go. Pursue it and follow your heart. And never let anyone tell you that you’re not good enough! Have faith in yourself, and others will put faith in you too.

 

Buy Links:

Please note: All who want to pre-order need to register first on BNBS – www.britainsnextbestseller.co.uk . Once they register, they can make their order. When readers pre-order the book, they can opt to become supporters, by ticking (checking) the relevant box on the pre-order page. If they do this, they will then be listed as a supporter – their name is added to the supporter list, which is visible to all who go on the page.

Britain’s Next Bestseller

 

Leave a Reply

