Interview With Author Kia Carrington-Russell (Possession Of My Heart, YA)

Possession Of My Heart

kia

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

The Three Immortal Blades series is a captivating sequence of man’s greatest and yet unknown fear. It is spoken through the eyes of the main heroine, Karla Grey who must self discover like much of us. She must learn of new skills and abilities, while conflicting emotions of young love and first love are at play. It is the focus of the descions we make and as to whether we decide to become stronger and keep fighting; or forfeit and let ourselves and those around us crumble.

It is a wonderful and conflicted journey where Karla must race through so many conflicting thoughts. She must compete with Starkorfs, Elemental Breathers and even her allies the Shielders. It is action packed and sweetly written, with the hint of first love to mix. It is vast in characters and they are all well written and defied by their own personalities.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?
Fiction/ Fantasy/ Ya/ Paranormal/ Romance/ Action

 


Is this book part of a series?
Yes. Possession Of My Heart, is the second installment to The Three Immortal Blades. Possession Of My Soul is the first.

 


What was the inspiration behind your book?
To be able to connect to my readers. To create a fantasy world which I love so much, I love fantasy and action but to create a character that has gone through the emotions that myself as a teenager went through as well many others. I hope it inspires people to believe in themselves, even if they don’t see my hidden message in the book.

 


What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?
I started writing when I was in highschool at age fifteen. I published my first book when I was twenty. Writing was something I always enjoyed and aspired to do well in, but it was the year of 2014 that I really focused on it and realised that this truly is my life path and I will continue writing with the many stories I have to come. Apparantly my family and friends were waiting for me to take it seriously, as they had always known I would become an author but said nothing.

 


So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
Meeting and speaking with my readers and team. I have met so many amazing people and there truly is no feeling like having someone read your book and tell you that they loved it. A lot of these people then turn into friends. It is wonderful to speak with people all over the world but be brought together because of the books I have created. It’s a feeling like no other.

 


Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?
For a few years in High school I sent my manuscript to Traditional Publishers with very little luck. When I was nineteen I realised why and that was because my writing at the time was scattered and immature. So I worked really hard to make it work. And as I did, I realised how much I enjoyed being in every step of my own journey and made all the descions. So I chose to self publish so I could continue doing that. To know that all my success will be from my own hard work and passion. I self published under the name of Crystal Publishing. Which starting next year will become a self-publishing services website, where I can help many other authors with my wonderful team to step their hard working selves in the right direction and step them towards amazing freelancers.

 


What are you working on now?

I just complete my fourth manuscript ‘Sia’, which is the second to the Phantom Wolf series. In fact I only sent it off to my amazing editor, Ashley yesterday. Currently I am working on creating my two website: Crystal Book Promoters and Crystal Publishing so they are up and running. As well as trialing my first suspenseful romance and a manual on tips and advice as to how to self published.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I’m a workaholic, I have recently found out. I have a full time job, and a part time job and then I write on the side. Which is about everyday. So I have realised I am a workaholic. I am working hard for what I want to achieve. But I also love painting, photography, and anime. I love animals and like to believe myself as an animal whisper (I say this with a smile on my face of course) I am a bit of a hippie, in spiritual beliefs and like to cook as if a master chef. Although I take about two more hours then a normal cook would take to finish it. I enjoy the worlds of fantasy and cosplaying for events such as Supanova and Manga festivals. Why, probably because I am a bit of a nerd. I love my family and friends who support me dearly and enjoy dancing as well.

 


What are some of your likes and dislikes?
I dislike onesie. This statement might be controversial but I hate them. My best friend loves them and wears them whenever she can in spite of me.

I love Japanese culture and for so many years have now been wanting to visit. I love their traditions and their pop culture and can not wait for the day/ weeks/ months that I visit Japan.

I dislike magicians because I get so grumpy if I can’t figure them out.

I do like food and have a high appreciation for it as well as music.

I love animals and manga.

 


How can readers connect with you?

In any way they would like. I love to hear from readers I really do so they can contact me through my website-

www.thethreeimmortalblades.com

My Facebook Fanpage- www.facebook.com/thethreeimmortalblades

My Twitter- www.twitter.com/kia_crystal

My Goodreads- www.goodreads.com/kia_crystal

 


Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

Unless you know me personally, most don’t realize I struggle to acknowledge or be proud of my own work. Because I am always looking ahead I don’t at times take the time to appreciate what I have accomplished and the books I have written, or anything in my working life. I struggle to take compliments in my work because I feel like I can always do better. Not because I am doubtful but I am just always pushing forward and trying to improve myself and skill. Which is why I appreciate reviews and honest criticism so much.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Please contact me. I love hearing from my readers, hearing about their life, where they are from what they do. It really is fascinating to see so many people brought together because of the books I have written. If anything it helps me appreciate my own work even more and grateful for the people I have met on this wonderful journey.

 

Purchase Possession Of My Heart at:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Website

 

One thought on “Interview With Author Kia Carrington-Russell (Possession Of My Heart, YA)

Leave a Reply

