Interview With Echo Fox (Air Riders, Fantasy)

Air Riders Cover Reveal

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

Air Riders is an exciting, action-filled fantasy book that accompanies Tai, a hunter, as he battles to protect his people and the love of his life against subterfuge, deceit and danger.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

Air Riders is a YA Fantasy Romance – action, adventure and first love all play heavy roles.

 

Is this book part of a series?

It’s part of the Equilibria Series, but all the books in the series can be read as standalones. They all take place within the same world, but follow different characters and situations. You can read them in any order and each book will add a little more dimension to the world.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?

The world I’ve written about relies on a split between the elements. Air Riders takes on the element of air, which to me always carries an Eastern feel. I was inspired by Eastern martial arts and the honour-culture to create the Zephyrus’ day-to-day life. I knew I wanted a less-obvious enemy as well and a focus on the romantic relationship between the two main characters.

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

I’ve always been a big reader and my obsession with stories led me to study Classics at university. I love words and writing is just a way to express all the stories in my head. I guess I’ve been jotting down stories for most of my life, the Equilibria Series is just the first time I’ve shared.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

My absolute favourite moment so far, without a doubt, was chatting about my books at a dinner out with friends and someone at the next table leaning over and saying; ‘You wrote those? I loved reading them!’ It made my week!

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I’m self-published and part of the #IndieBooksBeSeen movement. There are so many great Indie authors out there, I wanted to be a part of the movement. I’m also super impatient and I can’t deal with waiting on other people. I like to jump right in myself.

 

What are you working on now?

I’m moving straight on to the next book in the Equilibria Series (keep an eye out on my Twitter feed for news of it’s title and cover!) I’m also vaguely planning a few interim books to detail some of the side character’s journeys.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I’m a cake-a-holic, living in the South of England with my lovely boyfriend and a supremely fluffy cat who has a biscuit addiction. I love adding new recipes to my kitchen repertoire, travelling to new cities around Europe and I always have a book (or several) on the go.

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?

I love fresh flowers, spicy food, pistachio ice cream and dragons. I’m not so keen on waiting for things to happen, fur-less cats and being cold.

 

How can readers connect with you?

Twitter 

Facebook

Website

Mailing List

Amazon Author Page

Goodreads

1st book Wave Singers on Amazon

2nd book Earth Drummer on Amazon

1st book Wave Singers on Goodreads

2nd book Earth Drummer on Goodreads

3rd book Air Riders on Goodreads

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I love coffee shops, but never actually drink coffee.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Ah, reading is such a treat. It takes you places, let’s you see things that you could never have imagined. There is a quote I love; ‘A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.’ George R.R. Martin.

 

Purchase Air Riders at:

Amazon

Amazon UK

 

Leave a Reply

