Interview With Author JD Lovil (Jigsaw World, Science Fiction)

JD Lovil Kindle

helmet 004

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

This book follows a seemly normal guy named Tom, as he takes a road trip in a world where monsters and strange things are behind the many disasters that befall the world. He knows that he is not as normal as he seems, since he can see the creatures behind the events that others can’t. Also, he cannot remember anything that happened in his life more than twenty years ago, but he dreams of things that happened hundreds of years before as though they happened to him.

As the story progresses, he accumulates several companions in his journey, which becomes a quest to fix the very fabric of reality of the world that they live in. During this process, Tom has to examine his strange connection to murders around him, and find his equally strange destiny.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

That is a hard question to answer. The basis for the book is a hard science one, since the premise depends on the Many Worlds solution to the uncertainty principle. The Observers that form our reality bring a fantasy or metaphysical aspect to the storyline as mutation of reality by mental means is indistinguishable from magic.

You can call it Science Fiction, or you can call it Fantasy, or you can call it Metaphysical Speculative Fiction. You tell me.

 

Is this book part of a series?

No, it shares some characters with a series, but it is a standalone book.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?

I have been an armchair observer of the world for most of my life, and some conclusions about the nature of reality and existence, and the worlds that we make for ourselves have become insistent on being heard. I am not a New-Ager, and in most ways consider myself to be very critical and analytical of philosophies and theories of life, such as the positive affirmation crowd’s claims. That being said, I think I have a truth about existence to tell.

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

Some of my life, I have felt like an outsider to normal human life. It has given me a unique perspective from which to observe, and I have always considered writing to be a much better communication venue for me than any other. I waited a long time for effective Indie publishing platforms to come along, and then I began to write.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

Publishing my first novel ‘Worldship Praxis’.

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I am self-published, using the Amazon Kindle and Smashwords platforms to disseminate my writing to the world at large in digital form, and using Createspace to print the paperback formats as needed.

 

What are you working on now?

I have just started writing on a nonfiction book that investigates the question of how to create happiness in your life, and will even investigate the question of ‘why one should want to be happy’.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I don’t even know where to start. I grew up in a farm situation, where I devoured books every chance I got, learned to read when I was three, and was reading between one and three books a day by the time I was in the fourth grade. I grew up, paid my way through a college degree (B.S.), had a very quirky career path, and have now settled down to writing in the Phoenix area.

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?

I detest the commercials that insult the public intelligence. I would willingly line any politicians that lie to the public up and be part of the firing squad. I dislike the many idiots out there that claim the status of scientist in pushing their current agendas, while being either too stupid to google their subject, or attempting to deceive the public.

I like the human species prospects for the future. If we survive the next fifty years, we may survive the succeeding geologic eras. I like most people, as long as they have the ‘live and let live’ attitude in life.

 

How can readers connect with you?

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I am naturally sort of shy, but long ago I learned to deal with it.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

If we want a future world worth living in, we need to start thinking about creating it now.

 

Buy this book on Amazon

 

2 thoughts on “Interview With Author JD Lovil (Jigsaw World, Science Fiction)

Leave a Reply

