Interview With Author Angela White (The Survivors, Science Fiction)

The Survivors Cover

My Bio Image

Interview 1 Post Image

 

In your own words, please describe your book.
Life After War is a chilling tale of murder and madness, of darkness and light, of good and evil. Set during the apocalypse!

 
What genre/genres does your book fall under?
Seven. The stores usually insist that I pick two and those would be fantasy and action adventure. However, it has a fascinating love story, more drama than some of my male readers can take, and a great humor. Practical jokes and funny scenes are my way of giving the readers a brief break from all the horror of an apocalypse.

 
Is this book part of a series?
Yes. This is book one. There are currently six, all over 600 pages each, and I’m currently working on the seventh, called The Price We Pay.

 
What was the inspiration behind your book?
I’ve been curious (obsessed!) with the end of the world since I was a child, but the terminator films and Bill Clinton convinced me it was a calling. I can’t imagine doing ANYTHING else, from being rich and powerful, to being President. I get to create the stories that I’ve always wanted to read, and to my delight, other people like them as much as I do. The survival aspect came in later when I realized that I could help people learn to prep for their own emergencies. It snow-balled from there. Now, a lot of what is in this series, a group of survivors could honestly do and get by. Minus the magic, of course. Can’t give that to them.

 
What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?
My mother, who was useless, bless her heart, gave me a book when I wouldn’t quit bugging her over something. It was what my dad called a smut book back then (which is romance, not erotica or adult) and after I finished it, I went to her boxes and read every one that she had. When I exhausted it, I told her I was going to write my own because we couldn’t afford to buy another one. And so I did.

 
So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
Leaving my old job to write full time. It was the moment that I’d realized my dream. Not that it stopped then or is over. That was just the moment in my life that it all changed and I’ve never looked back.

 
Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?
I’m an Indie. I went through the same he-haw that we all had to back then. Rejection letters stink, but you learn to write better descriptions that way and any sales page will tell you how important that blurb is. Once I had the files together, I paid Author House to publish it and quickly realized what a mistake that was. I ended up spending weeks doing research and downloading, familiarizing myself with the new programs. Took a while, but I published through Amazon in October of 2010. I retired from my job in January of 2012. It’s been one hell of a ride, really.

 
What are you working on now?
The seventh book of my main series, though I occasionally work on my Alexa’s Travels series in between.

 
In your own words, please tell us about yourself.
Mean, picky, a hardass most days. Slightly rude, slightly chunky, slightly old. An amazing mind and a sense of humor that requires intelligent jokes. Bossy, ambitious, and determined to succeed where others have failed.
Or… I’m an author.

 
What are some of your likes and dislikes?
Ms. White enjoys iced tea, vanilla scents, and shooting a 9mm. Her turn-offs are idiots who can’t drive, authors who cheat their readers, and all politicians.

 
How can readers connect with you?
Through Facebook is best. It gives them a chance to scroll my wall and read conversations so they know what they’re getting into by befriending me. I won’t always post things that make them happy and I don’t apologize for that.

 
Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?
I raise chickens and I really loathe it when their shit gets under my fingernails. Drives me nuts!

 
If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?
You’ve changed my life.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

iTunes

Smashwords

Kobo
 

4 thoughts on “Interview With Author Angela White (The Survivors, Science Fiction)

  1. Love all your apocalypse books, the thin strands that link your series are thought provoking. I can’t wait for all three to continue. I read them all this summer and started over again, thanks for great summer reads!
    Holly

  2. I am a brand new fan of yours Angela. Actually stumbled over your first 3 ‘After the War’ series, on Amazon, by ‘accident’, or was it? I am now beginning book 7 of the series. Like you, I have ‘known’ from childhood, something horrible is coming upon us. Yes, like you, when I try to describe things I feel certain of, to come to my friends and family members, I only end up getting a glazed over look, from their eyes. I know, they do not want anyone ruining their precious illusions, of how our own government and military, would never ever allow, anything to happen in this nation of ours. They can not fathom life with out the grocery stores shelves being stocked, gasoline at the pumps, texting or calling on those precious cell phones, clothes and shoes for the buying. Like you, I have simply shut up and stopped trying, to ‘alert’ them, for I only get ‘you are nuts, totally nuts or fully crazy’. But today, with all that is going on in our nation and other parts of the world, it appears that some, a few, are starting to remember the warnings. No one can ever be fully prepared for such as time, as is coming to this nation, but we can attempt a head start on a plan, for survival. Thank you for having the brains, to pour your heart and soul out, into your series ‘After the War’. By doing so, you may have touched more hearts and minds, than ever trying to explain things coming to us all, in person one on one. Keep on writing your heart out and I will keep on reading! deb

Leave a Reply

