Interview With Author Lena Jo McCoy (Special Run, Paranormal Mystery)

specialruncover

P5300040

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

Everyone who is owned by a pet feels a special bond with that animal.

 

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

Paranormal mystery, although some people describe it as a thriller.

 

Is this book part of a series?

Yes. The second book, Bulldog Fall, is due out next spring.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?

I was in Colorado, working with my dad (now deceased) on our farm in northeastern Colorado (where my book takes place). Before marijuana was made legal, we discussed the advantages and disadvantages of raising the plant. That night, I went to sleep in my old bedroom. In the room were pictures and memorabilia of the dog I had in high school: Special. My imagination took over in my sleep and in the morning, I woke up with the outline of the story for Special Run.

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

My first day of kindergarten I came home and told my mom I wasn’t going back. “Why?” she asked. I told her they didn’t teach me to read! I’ve been a book lover all my life. I grew up in a time where there were only three television channels and the colored bars went on at 9 p.m. Books took me to exotic places and introduced me to things I could never imagine. I have a bachelors of science degree in Agriculture Journalism from Colorado State University and spent most of my career writing for agriculture publications.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

It’s got to be when the first person bought my book and then bought seven more copies for their friends!

 

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I self published with a company called Wheatmark. I chose them because they were a local company who could place my book in the market and take the work out of the things I didn’t want to spend my time learning: formatting an ebook, placing the book on book buying sites, formatting and printing the content. Being a writer, I know how important editing is. I hired two different editors and had a team of beta readers before I started looking for a publisher. An artist friend painted the art for the cover and another friend, a professional designer, designed the cover. Originally I sought out agents but I’m a control freak and wanted the book done the way I wanted. I wanted to be proud of what I created. I cannot tell you how many agents wanted more sex. I know it sells, but that’s not my book. Some wanted less of a dog story. Really? It’s a story about a dog! I went to many writer’s conventions and spoke with many authors before setting on this path.

 

What are you working on now?

Two books. The second in this series is Bulldog Fall, and I’m working on a non-titled thriller. When I get writers block on one, I write on the other.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I quit the corporate world to write my book. I’m also a thrift store junkie so when I wasn’t writing I was shopping. One of the charity thrift stores I shopped at asked me to volunteer and through a twist of events I am now the manager of the store. The shop is minutes from my home and allows me the time to pursue my dream of writing with a love of junking. The shop also provides me with characters who may or may not find their way into my writing. I am married and a slave to my two beautiful English bulldogs, sisters Tegan and Gabrielle.

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?

I love food. All food and I’ll try anything once. Remember I majored in agriculture. Bet most people have never sampled entries to an entomology cook off! I really dislike people who judge. In a wonderful book, called “Forgiving Deadman Walking,” the author says only one person gets to judge and for sure it wasn’t her.

 

How can readers connect with you?

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I studied opera my first year of college.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

I have read so many wonderful books by just typing in a keyword on Amazon or seeing a book at a thrift shop. Take a chance and read something not on the best sellers list. You might discover a gem!

 

Buy Link:

Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

