Interview With Author Rayne Rachels (Reluctantly Undead, Paranormal Romance)

cover web version

In your own words, please describe your book.

Ember Winterstone wakes up in a garbage dumpster after surviving a strange attack by her diner date. She soon learns not only did she survive the attack, but she is now a vampire…at least that’s what everyone, except Ember, seems to think. Sure she has fangs, is a little sensitive to sunlight, has the occasional desire to drink blood, and has a really cool set of fangs, but that doesn’t really make her a vampire? Ember still eats food and has cravings for chocolate. Her eyes are a little sensitive to sunlight, but a pair of sunglasses solves that problem. And this is just the start of her problems, because somehow she has managed to screw up being a vampire.

 

What genre/genres does you book fall under.

It is definitely a paranormal vampire romance, but it has some comedic elements.

 

Is this book part of a series?

Reluctantly Undead is book one in the Reluctantly Undead Series. I’m working on the idea for book 2.

 

What was the inspiration behind your book?

While watching television, I happened to see a scene where some guys were “dumpster diving” and came across a body. I don’t remember what show I was watching, or if it was the news, but the scene started me to thinking. What if a vampire threw his victim into a dumpster? What if his victim wasn’t really dead, but had somehow made the transition? What if the victim refused to believe they had been turned into a vampire? It was from here, the idea grew into the story.

 

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

For as long as I can remember, if I wasn’t reading, I was writing. Poetry, short stories, attempts at novels filled notebooks when I was in school. I kept writing after I got married, but then my son was born and I was working fulltime, and writing fell to a back burner. For a short period, I picked up the pen again and wrote several short stories, but as before, my dreams of writing were pushed aside. Then I discovered the world of paranormal romance. I loved the stories, the characters, the ideas, and the paranormal creatures. After a couple of years of reading this genre, I started thinking about writing again, and the old dreams of being a writer resurfaced.

 

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

That moment was when I held my first book in my hands. My dreams were finally a reality, and I had concrete proof I could show everyone. It was definitely a happy dance moment.

 

Are you self-published or published through a small press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I am self-published. After several years of getting requests for partial manuscripts, and the rejections, I decided to take the plunge into self-publishing. It has been one huge learning experience. I’m still learning. There are so many hats the self-published author has to wear besides the author hat. Sometimes, it’s scary. One of the biggest things I had to realize, I wasn’t just an author. I couldn’t just write the book, submit it, and be done with the story. I had choices and decisions I had to make.

One of the things I decided to do was to learn how to design my own covers. I started teaching myself Photoshop. My son had learned some of the basics of Photoshop in one of his high school computer classes, so he showed me what he remembered. It was frustrating and exciting working with the program. Am I an expert? No. I am still learning. I have found lots tutorials on YouTube, which are extremely helpful with I want to learn how to do something new.

Advertising has been a really huge challenge. There are a lot of suggestions out there, but no one way is perfect for everyone. What worked for one person, more often than not, will not work for the next person. There has been a lot of trial and error. Being on a blog tour is new to me.

 

What are you working on now?

I’ve started writing the fourth book in my Bryant Station Curves series. Bearshifters and twins, Todd and Harrison Anderson find their mate…the one woman meant for both of them, but she has some bagged following her.

 

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I’m married and have a son. I have a fulltime day job I would love to quit so I can write fulltime. I have two cats who run the house in only the way cats can. I love writing and have tons of ideas. My mind is constantly coming up with them. I also love reading. I have close to 1000 books on my Kindle. I have no problem reading ebooks or paperbacks.

I’m not a great photographer, but I enjoy going out and taking pictures. I enjoy playing Texas Hold’em poker, though I don’t play as much as I used to. I like fishing whether it’s off a pier at the coast, or off the banks of a local river.

 

How can readers connect with you?

Blog
Twitter
Pinterest
Goodreads

 

What are some of your likes and dislikes?

a.      Likes

a.      Cold winter days (as cold as it gets in Texas).

b.      Lots of coffee and even more hot tea. My favorite teas are Earl Gray, English Breakfast and Irish Breakfast.

c.       The holidays season from Thanksgiving through Christmas

d.      My husband. He’s very supportive of my writing.

e.      Science fiction movies/television shows

f.        Edgar Allan Poe

g.      Ray Bradbury

h.      Technology

i.        My cats

b.      Dislikes

a.      Hot summer days

b.      Sunburns

c.       My weight

d.      Clothes shopping

e.      Licorice. Can’t stand the stuff. YUCK!

f.        Electronic calendars. I know…weird. I use my computer and Iphone all the time, but I don’t like the electronic calendars on them. I’ve downloaded others, but have yet to find one I really like.

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

For most of my life, I have struggled with my weight and self-image issues. I am finally at a place where I’m comfortable with who I am and how I look. I am working on my weight issues to help my health.

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Thank you for taking a chance on me and reading my stories.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I have enjoyed writing them.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

KOBO

 

2 thoughts on “Interview With Author Rayne Rachels (Reluctantly Undead, Paranormal Romance)

Leave a Reply

