Interview With Michelle Abbott @MichelleAbbott4 (Just Stay, New Adult Contemporary Romance)

JustStayFront

 

michelle abbott

 
In your own words, please describe your book.

Just Stay is a romance, with British characters and is set in Cornwall in the UK.  My male character, Trey, has an unfulfilled life. He has responsibilities that stand in the way of his dreams. He’s always been made to feel second best. Pia is taking a vacation with her family, before she leaves for university. She’s bored and would rather be back in London with her friends, that is, until she meets Trey. He’s anything but boring! Pia finds him arrogant and annoying. She tries to avoid him, but Trey makes that impossible. It’s a story about fighting for your dreams and learning to love yourself for who you are.

 
What genre/genres does your book fall under?

New Adult contemporary romance.

 
Is this book part of a series?

No, it’s a standalone.

 
What was the inspiration behind your book?

It was inspired by my vacation at a sleepy, Cornish village. While I was there I was unable to get a cell phone signal. It gave me the idea of a girl who is waiting for a call from a guy she likes but is stuck in a village without a phone signal. The rest of the story grew from there.

 
What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

I’ve always enjoyed writing, but I never thought of trying to write a book. When self-publishing became popular, I decided to give it a try. I loved every moment of writing my first book, and now I can’t imagine doing anything else with my life.

 
So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

When a fan said that Kayden (the character in my first book ‘In Chains’) was her best book boyfriend, ever! It’s great when readers love my characters as much as I do.

 
Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I’m self-published by choice. I’ve never tried to get a traditional publishing deal because I’m far too impatient to wait months, or years to get my stories out into the world. I also like that I have complete control over every aspect of my books. I hired a cover designer because I knew nothing about graphic design. I’ve learned a lot since then and am making my own cover for my WIP. I published via KDP because I’d heard most people buy books through Amazon. My paperbacks I published through Lulu.

 
What are you working on now?

I’m working on another New Adult contemporary romance. I’ve decided on a title but I’m not ready to reveal that just yet. It’s set in Norfolk, in the UK. The theme is letting go of your past, and not letting it define you. There’s a lot more to it, but I’m going to keep it a secret for now . As always, my male character is an underdog. I hope to have it published in September.

 
In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I live in the UK. I’m Mum to two awesome kids who are now adults. I’m an easy-going person and am not a fan of drama, except in my books.

 
What are some of your likes and dislikes?

I like being by the coast in the winter, when it’s deserted and the sea is rough! I’m a fan of ‘Orange is the New Black.’ When I’m not writing I love to read romance. I also like to travel and see new places. I dislike cruelty, bullies, liars, and spiders!

 
How can readers connect with you?

I love to hear from my readers.
Website
Blog
Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads

 
Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I got hit by a car when I was 17. I was dragged underneath it and had third degree burns on my arm where it caught the exhaust pipe!

 
If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Thank you for reading my books and taking a chance on a new author.

 

Find this book on Amazon
 

One thought on “Interview With Michelle Abbott @MichelleAbbott4 (Just Stay, New Adult Contemporary Romance)

Leave a Reply

