Interview With Sandra Saidak (Daughter of the Goddess Lands, Prehistoric Fiction)

Daughter_of_the_Goddess_Lands_POD_Cover_Only_500w_777h_jpg_scaled500

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

In your own words, please describe your book. 

Daughter of the Goddess Lands is feminist prehistoric adventure.  It focuses on the clash between two radically different cultures.   A woman from a peaceful, Goddess-worshiping society is captured by a violent nomadic tribe, bent on conquest of her land.  She escapes, but knows her people have no way to stand against men trained since childhood to be warriors.  So she gathers a group of volunteers to be offered as tribute, and goes off on a mission to destroy her enemy from inside their own world.

 
What genre/genres does your book fall under?   Prehistoric Fiction

 
Is this book part of a series?   Yes

 
What was the inspiration behind your book?  I loved Jean Auel’s Earth’s Children series, and many of the books that followed in the genre.  I especially enjoyed tales of the culture clash between patriarchic warriors and egalitarian Goddess-worshipers.  But no one quite wrote the book I wanted to read.  So I wrote it myself.

 
What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?  I can’t remember a time in my life when I didn’t tell stories, whether to myself to fall asleep at night or writing outlines for movies when I was bored in elementary school, or rewriting tv episodes to make them turn out the way I wanted them to.

 
So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?  My first five-star review on Amazon from a complete stranger.

 
Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?  I am self-published.  About three years ago, a good friend, who had read nearly everything I’ve written asked me which of my novels was the most nearly ready to be published.  I said “Kalie’s Journey” (which is now the name of the series; he said I needed a better title for each of the books) because I had worked on it the longest.  It also had an existing audience, since prehistoric fiction is a rather specific niche.  My friend asked how much I’d be willing to self-publish.  Thinking this was hypothetical, I said “$300.00”.  He said, “You want to try an experiment?”  The rest is history.

 
What are you working on now?   “Keepers of the Ancient Wisdom”—the final book in my Kalie’s Journey series.

 
In your own words, please tell us about yourself.   I am a dedicated dreamer.  I’ve had an active fantasy life for as long as I can remember.  I began consciously crafting these fantasies into short stories and novels in high school.  I love to read.  I view history as a series of stories that should be enjoyed more than they currently are by most people.  I teach high school English and World History to help others enjoy these things.  I have a wonderful family that I adore, and I believe there are few problems which cannot be solved by the right amount of chocolate or a long hike in the woods.

 
What are some of your likes and dislikes? Likes: reading, writing, daydreaming, hiking, good food of all kinds, my family, and on a good day, teaching.  Dislikes: writer’s block, housework, any type of bully, and feeling powerless to do anything about the last one.

 
How can readers connect with you?

Facebook

Website

 
Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?  I want to travel to the parts of the world that I write about.

 
If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?  Read my books!  Then tell me what you think of them (Amazon review, post on my website, e-mail me, start a discussion on Goodreads or Amazon, et c.)  I love to discuss books, but discussing books I actually wrote is a new thrill which I hope to enjoy fully over time.

 

Amazon

One thought on “Interview With Sandra Saidak (Daughter of the Goddess Lands, Prehistoric Fiction)

Leave a Reply

