Interview With Inge-Lise Goss @IngeGoss (The Cost of Crude, Thriller)

The-Cost-of-Crude-kindle cover

I-LG

In your own words, please describe your book.
It’s a thriller about corruption, murder, betrayal, romance, and a deadly conspiracy in the oil and gas industry. When Gwynn Reznick’s best friend and co-worker, Julie Morgan, dies in a car crash, she suspects foul play and gets involved in an investigation. Gwynn finds herself in grave danger as the perpetrators search for an incriminating disk recorded by Julie before her untimely death. Every day she goes to work at Wilton Oil & Gas Company becomes a more terrifying experience as the number of security guards working for the assailants increases.
Before the case is solved, Gwynn will be shot at, slapped, kicked, stabbed, drugged, and abducted. In order to survive, she’ll have to defend herself against hired thugs who want her dead. She finds romance along the way. With Gwynn’s help, the investigation team uncovers a conspiracy and the chilling reason Julie died.

 
What genre/genres does your book fall under?
Mystery/thriller, crime, suspense, and romance.

 
Is this book part of a series?
It is the first book in a mystery/thriller series I’m developing involving corruption and conspiracies in the oil and gas industry.

 
What was the inspiration behind your book?
New reports about disasters in the oil and gas industry and my background as an oil and gas auditor inspired me to write this novel along with my muse pushing me to do it.

 
What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?
I started by first novel in December 2009. Since then I have written five novels. Prior to that, I had thought about writing a novel for five years. It was the insistence of my muse that actually got me start. She haunted my dreams and wouldn’t let up.

 
So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
The day my first novel appeared on Amazon, champagne flowed! But the greatest moment was when I received my first review and the reader gave me a stellar 5-star review.

 
Are you self-published or published through a small press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I am published by a small press, Silver Tongue Press. I had sent out ten query letters to try to obtain an agent. I received one rejection. The other nine didn’t respond at all. Then I decided it was time to go directly to a publisher. Two days later, one of the owners of Silver Tongue Press posted on a group I was in on LinkedIn that they were looking for submissions. That was in the summer of 2012. My first novel, The Tegen Cave, was published in April 2013. At that time, I didn’t have a website and I wasn’t on any social media sites. This past year has been a real book promo learning experience.

 
What are you working on now?
Besides doing promo work on my novel, The Cost of Crude, I’m editing The Cisco Bandits, a sequel. I’m also working on a sequel to The Tegen Cave, a dark fantasy.

 
In your own words, please tell us about yourself.
I was born in Denmark and raised in Salt Lake City. I have three sisters, and I had one brother. He died too young as a result of the Vietnam War, but he’ll never be forgotten. I married at nineteen and gave birth to three children, two sons and a daughter. When they were all in school, I wanted to continue my education and attended the University of Utah. Shortly before I graduated my youngest child was born, a son. I am a Certified Public Accountant and worked in that field for over twenty years. When my four children were all raised and out of the house, I moved with my husband and our dog, Bran, to Las Vegas. Now I spend most of my time in my den writing stories dictated by her muse.

 
What are some of your likes and dislikes?
I love writing and letting my imagination flow. Outside that I like pastries, especially Neapolitans, golfing, and enjoying the outdoors. My main dislike is time constraints. It doesn’t seem like 24-hour days work for me. There should be 36 or 48-hour days. Then, maybe, I could get caught up on everything I want to do.

 
How can readers connect with you?

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Amazon Author Page

 
Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?
My father taught me to ride a unicycle, jump a rope on it, and juggle rings. When I was younger, I used to perform with my father and one of my sisters.

 
If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?
Thank you for all the encouragement, wonderful notes and comments, and most important, thank you for reading my novels!

Buy Link:
Amazon

 

One thought on “Interview With Inge-Lise Goss @IngeGoss (The Cost of Crude, Thriller)

Leave a Reply

