Interview With Rhett C. Bruno (The Circuit: Executor Rising, Science Fiction)

The_Circuit__Executor_Rising

Rhett Bruno Picture

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

My book is set in a grim future where the Earth has fallen and humanity now lives in contained settlements throughout our solar system. Grass, trees and other animals are as rare as gems. The story is fast-paced, explosive, and revolves around four characters whose lives are intertwined because of the actions of a mysterious man named Cassius Vale.

 
What genre/genres does your book fall under?

Science Fiction mostly, with elements of Space Opera, Dystopian and Post Apocalyptic.

 
Is this book part of a series?
Yes. It is the first installment of “The Circuit” Series. I’m currently working on the sequel.

 
What was the inspiration behind your book?

My initial inspiration came from watching classic science fiction movies/shows like Star Wars and Star Trek and noticing how artificial gravity is just kind of an accepted technology. After doing some research I found out just how far-off most of the theories are and came up with the idea of us finding a new element (Gravitum) deep in the Earth that gives us the ability. When I was thinking up the story I wanted the notion that human curiosity has repercussions to be prevalent and so that was when I decided that the mining of Gravitum would be what unsettled the fragile nature of our homeworld. While that is never directly stated in this novel, it is intended to be implied. Everything else sort of evolved around that idea of Earth being a shackle that humanity is bound to even after they evolve beyond the planet’s surface.

 
What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

Honestly, even when I was very young I found myself thinking up stories and sketching characters. As I got older I started to realize that I was better at writing than drawing so I focused more on that. I’ts always been something that I felt I had to do, if that makes sense. It calms me. There’s nothing like writing a sentence o a paragraph that you really feel confident about. I’m also an architect, so I guess a part of me just needs to create stuff.

 
So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

Getting “The Circuit: Executor Rising” published. I read more books than I ever have in my life as I toiled over the manuscript for almost two years, trying to get a handle of science fiction writing. Waiting for publishers to respond was agonizing, so I am grateful to Mundania Press and the few others who made offers for believing in me.

 
Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

As I said above I’m published with a small press named Mundania Press. Since I have no agent I submitted to a bunch of small presses and heard back from only a handful. The feedback was mostly good, but it was thrilling to finally get offered a contract by Mundania. The publishing experience with them has been awesome. They are very attentive and were happy to let me design my own book cover with Adam Day (a close friend), which was something I was intent on. The editor they provided was also very helpful. Overall I can’t complain about anything.

 
What are you working on now?

Right now I’m writing the untitled sequel to “Executor Rising”. I’m also working on a few short stories here and there when I have time.

 
In your own words, please tell us about yourself. 

​ I grew up on Long Island and have always been drawn to art. At first it was drawing and painting, but in High School I dedicated myself more to writing. It was always something I did on the side, however, including when I attended Syracuse University for Architecture. I don’t think I really improved as as writer until a few years ago when I started to read as much as I can. Right now I’m practicing architecture in Westchester, NY and also working to get certified in screenwriting.

 
What are some of your likes and dislikes?

I’m a sucker for all things Science Fiction , though I won’t deny that Star Wars trumps everything, including the books and video games. It and fantasy are really the only genre’s of book I can get myself to read all the way through. I’m a die-hard NY Jets fan, who consistently give me a nervous feeling much like waiting for a publisher. I’m also big on ancient history and any show/movie that captures those time periods (Rome, Spartacus, Gladiator). I can’t really think of anything that I dislike. I’m open to giving almost anything a try.

 

How can readers connect with you?

 

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?
When I was 16 I lived in Australia for a month and while I there I laid down next to a Kangaroo! 

 

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?
I guess it would be to give my book a try and really give it an honest review. I went to Architecture School so I know how vital constructive criticism can be to get better at anything. So if you don’t like my book, and you actually read it front to back, let me know why!

 

Leave a Reply

