Interview With Rachel Bateman @RachelBateman (99 Days of Laney MacGuire, YA Contemporary Romance)

99DOLM

 

rachelbateman

 

In your own words, please describe your book.

99 Days of Laney MacGuire is about a girl (Laney, natch) who just had a horrible year and can’t wait to get to her dad’s for the summer. It’s a place that never changes, where she can go back to how things were before. Except when she gets there, she discovers that things aren’t so unchanging after all.

Plus there’s kissing.

 
What genre/genres does your book fall under?

This is actually a pretty funny question for this book. For the first several drafts, it was solidly Young Adult Contemporary. As I started in on this latest version, I realized it was a bit more…intense? After talking it through with a few friends in the business and my publicist, we decided it would do better labeled as New Adult. But then a weird thing happened. In the couple months between making that decision and my book releasing, NA became largely dark and super sexy—my book has its moments, but without any sex scenes, readers were having an issue with the NA label.

So, long story short, it’s YA contemporary.

(For the record, I do not believe NA has to be dark or super sexy. I don’t think it needs to have sex scenes at all. But what I think and what the market is supporting right now are two different things.)

 
Is this book part of a series?

It wasn’t. But people have loved and championed Rory so much that I’ve realized how much I miss his character, so he is getting his own book. One Month With the Girl Next Door, a companion novel to 99 Days of Laney MacGuire, will be out later this year!

 
What was the inspiration behind your book?

The summer of 1997—the original working title was So97. It is bizarre, since the story is nothing like what happened that summer. But the emotion is there.

 
What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

I wrote my first “book” when I was seven, carrying around a spiral notebook and pencil everywhere I went. It was pretty much fan fiction of the movie The Blob. (What? My parents were pretty lenient with what we watched.)

I always enjoyed writing after that. I tried poetry and short stories, screenplays, and of course novels, but it wasn’t until after I was married six years ago that the spark hit and I realized I can do this. I can be an author.

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

I don’t think I can pick just one favorite moment. There have been so many great times. I think my favorites are when readers and reviewers gush about my book. I just love when people love my words.

 
Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I am self-published. For years, I thought Big Five publishing was the only way for me to go. Then I was working on this book, and it just hit me that I should self-publish it. I’m not even sure where the idea came from, it just seemed right. So that’s what I did—no querying or submitting, just publishing.

It’s been a great journey. I won’t lie, it isn’t all sunshine and roses. There are a lot of businessy things that would be great to not have to deal with directly, but I love the control I have to shepherd my book out there exactly how I want to.

 
What are you working on now?

Incubus, my YA paranormal serial, is an ongoing project. Episode Three will be available any day!

Besides that, I have One Month With the Girl Next Door coming up, along with a NA Rock Star romance, Forever Last Night.

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I’m a Montana girl who dreams of living on the coast. Mama to one crazy toddler and wife to a computer geek turned farmer turned computer geek. (But wannabe farmer still.)

 
What are some of your likes and dislikes?

I love water—oceans, lakes, rivers, whatever I can get—and ice cream. Books. Photography. Horror movies. (All kinds of movies.)

I love the sunshine and fresh fruit. Playing with my boy. Hanging out with my husband. I love my pets, even when I hate them.

I dislike the war on women’s bodies and the hyper-modesty push that gets spewed all over the internet every summer. I dislike censorship. I dislike judgmental people. And tomatoes, but I’m trying to learn to like them.

 
How can readers connect with you?

I have a blog that’s terribly inactive at rachelbateman.com
You can always message me through Facebook or Twitter.
And my email is rachel@rachelbateman.com

 
Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

Um…I have an extra bone in my right foot. So there’s that.

 
If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

I adore you. Seriously. I am so thrilled for anyone to read my books.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon 
BN 
Kobo
iTunes

One thought on “Interview With Rachel Bateman @RachelBateman (99 Days of Laney MacGuire, YA Contemporary Romance)

Leave a Reply

