Interview With Kirsten S. Blacketer RT @KirBlacketer – A Shadow’s Kiss

AShadowsKiss_1650x2500

Kirsten S. Blacketer Author

 

In your own words, please describe your book.
A Shadow’s Kiss is a medieval tale chronicling the romance of Sir Alexander and Madeline. Alexander is sworn to honor and duty in the service of an English Baron. But when the woman he secretly loves disappears from a tournament, he tracks her down and finds her with her family in the Scottish Highlands. The story gets complicated because the English have no place behind Scottish stone in 1329.

 
What genre/genres does your book fall under?
Medieval Romance/Historical Romance

 
Is this book part of a series?
Yes, it is. The Shadow Guardian Series. The first book is An Irresistible Shadow, which I highly suggest reading first, so you don’t get lost with family connections and other spoilers. *wink*

 
What was the inspiration behind your book?
I’m a huge fan of historical anything. But my inspiration for A Shadow’s Kiss came when I finished the first book, An Irresistible Shadow. Alexander demanded that I tell his story next. Madeline wasn’t quite as vocal, but I knew I couldn’t just leave them hanging. So I wrote their story.
My inspiration for the Shadow Guardians themselves was the video game Assassin’s Creed. Just a spark of inspiration there, but it was enough for me to run with it and create my own group of secret protectors.

 
What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?
I have always been creative, but my passion for writing took off when I was in 8th grade. I had some great English teachers who nurtured and encouraged my love of writing. Once I reached college, I knew it was something I wanted to pursue further as a career. So I joined a writer’s group and started putting myself out there. I love it.

 
So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
The greatest moment so far is when I got my first acceptance letter. I had submitted the first five pages of An Irresistible Shadow to Breathless Press during one of their critique sessions and had a heart attack when the editor requested a full manuscript. It was the most thrilling moment of my writing career…well, at least up to this moment. I’m hoping for more in the future.

 
Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?
I’m published through a small press called Breathless Press. They offer a critique session several times a year where you can get feedback on your writing, and if the editor likes your work, they can request a full manuscript. That’s what happened with both of my medieval romances. My editor is an amazing woman who challenges me with every manuscript. I love my publisher. We have a group on Facebook where all the authors for our publisher hang out and interact. They’re like a writer family and super supportive. I’m thrilled with my publisher, editor, and my publishing experiences with Breathless Press.

 
What are you working on now?
I’m working on a stage play called Confessions of a Fangirl. It follows girl in her twenties who falls in love with an actor and realizes that sometimes obsession can be hazardous to our real life relationships.
I’m also plotting the third book in the Shadow Guardian Series and working on some notes for a Prohibition story set on the Mississippi River. I’m excited about all of these projects. *squeals*

 
In your own words, please tell us about yourself.
I’m a mother, a wife, a writer, a patriot, an avid fangirl, and a woman in love with the idea of romance. If I find out you like Doctor Who, the Avengers, or Sherlock, we can be friends for life. *grins*

 
What are some of your likes and dislikes?
I love movies, books, photography, roller coasters, and Tom Hiddleston.
I despise haters, liars, mushrooms, and shredded coconut.

 
How can readers connect with you?
You can find me here:
Twitter: @kirblacketer
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KirstenSBlacketerAuthor
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/KirstenSBlacketer
Tumblr: www.kblackship.tumblr.com
Blogs: thesarcasticmuse.com, KirstenSBlacketer.com
Email is Kirsten.Blacketer@gmail.com

I love hearing from my readers. Drop me a line. *hugs* ❤ Kirsten

 

Buy Links:

Amazon

Breathless Press

ARe

2 thoughts on “Interview With Kirsten S. Blacketer RT @KirBlacketer – A Shadow’s Kiss

Leave a Reply

