Interview With Scott Burtness (Wisconsin Vamp, Comedy)

Final Cover eBook

scott-burtness

In your own words, please describe your book.

What about the average vampire? The regular vamp that isn’t trying to fulfill a centuries-old prophecy, or defend us from the vamp trying to fulfill a centuries-old prophecy? The guy that doesn’t sparkle, has messy hair and isn’t quite sure how to match his socks. The guy with no game whatsoever. What about that vampire?

His name is Herb Knudsen. Wisconsin Vamp isn’t his entire story, just the interesting parts.

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

Horror/comedy

Is this book part of a series?

Wisconsin Vamp is the first book in the Monsters in the Midwest series. The sequel will be hitting digital shelves in October 2014.

What was the inspiration behind your book?

I like supernatural horror as much as the next guy. What I really like, though, are the funny stories. Shaun of the Dead, Grabbers, anything by Christopher Moore, Cockneys vs. Zombies, you get the idea. When I was living in Los Angeles, I decided (like everyone else living in L.A.) to write a screenplay, and naturally gravitated toward the funnier side of horror. I had just re-watched Interview with a Vampire and was thoroughly confused by Claudia’s perfectly curly hair. It just… happened. No salon, no product, no reflection. Just – POOF – perfect hair. I decided I needed to write about the vampire as far from glamorous little Claudia as I could get. I landed on Herb, a truck stop line cook in the woods of northern Wisconsin.

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

Writing just happened. I had acted (poorly), directed plays (terribly), and, despite a love for karaoke, was not going to be fronting any rock bands. So naturally, I wrote half a screenplay that I later turned into a book.

So far, what has been the greatest moment in your writing career?

Last Tuesday. It was a pretty great day.

Are you self-published or published through a small-press? Can you tell our readers what led up to that and your publishing experience?

I’m a self-published author, seeking a publisher. I didn’t mind writing a book, and am having a lot of fun writing the sequel. But the marketing? Exhausting.

What are you working on now?

I am currently working on the sequel to Wisconsin Vamp and a couple of short sci-fi stories for an anthology.

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I like beer. Bowling. Karaoke. Dessert is my favorite meal. It’s 2014 and I have an iPhone 4, which I think makes me old, or at least middle aged. I stopped buying cd’s after discovering Pandora and now I just listen to what algorithms think I’ll like best. I’m a greenie and cherish any initiative focused on protecting our environment, and I always vote.

What are some of your likes and dislikes?

I like people who are genuine and prone to smiling. I like pizza, Juicy Lucy’s, and Thai food. I like scooters more than motorcycles, because I would prefer to wipe out at a moderate speed instead of a really fast speed. I dislike greedy, selfish people, seafood, and bad beer.

How can readers connect with you?

Facebook and Twitter author pages

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I raised money for a Judo club in college by getting thrown to the ground for 6 hours straight.

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

You may not be able to carry a tune, but you can always karaoke!

 

Buy Links:

Amazon

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

