Interview With Author D.J. Williams (Mystery, The Disillusioned)

DISILLUSIONEDFRONTCOVERWEB

twitterphoto

In your own words, please describe your book.

The story begins as a mother’s suicide that threatens to destroy a family legacy. Her sons, Sam and Daniel, are forced to leave their worlds behind as the journey takes them in search of a woman they believe will unlock the secrets that have remained hidden. On their adventure they find themselves in the heart of Africa, in a place where death is one breath away, and thousands of children are disappearing into the darkness. When they stand face-to-face with the forgotten they must fight to redeem what has been lost.

What genre/genres does your book fall under?

Mystery. Suspense. Action Adventure.

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

I read Treasure Island cover to cover when I was eight. My imagination ran wild as I was captivated. From then I was hooked. I’m a sucker for a good story. From Grisham to Connelly to Meltzer, I’ve always been drawn in by realistic plots and characters that keep me reading late at night. I wanted to give it a shot, to see if I had it in me to do it. I wanted to write stories that left you flipping the page to find out what happened next. But I didn’t pursue that dream until I found myself coming out of a difficult year personally and professionally. There were two unexpected deaths in my family only thirty days apart. A business venture ended at the same time. For months I wondered why it was all happening. I didn’t realize how that season would change the direction of my life. I struggled to understand what I had been raised to believe since I was a kid, and how it affected me years later. That’s what started me researching the plot. I didn’t expect the twists and turns that followed as I discovered the story along the way. The deeper I went the more I knew I wanted to involve a social cause as part of it because I hoped it would make people judge the truth for themselves.

What are you working on now?

Currently, I’m writing a novel that connects a present day homicide with a real life mystery from the twenties. For those interested, I’m pulling back the curtain during the writing process to give exclusive access of snippets from chapters, characters, videos from various locations, a glimpse into my writing life, and readers will be able to share their opinions through various polls. To gain access you can go to www.djwilliamsbooks.com.

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I was born and raised in Hong Kong where I lived until I was fifteen. Then my family moved back to L.A. where I’ve been ever since. I guess you could say I’m a city boy at heart. That experience in Asia, surrounded by different cultures, shaped my perspective on the world around me and I hope is reflected in my writing. Alongside my writing projects, I’m also an Executive Producer and Director in the television industry. Combine the two and you have quite a roller coaster ride. When I’m not working, I love to spend time at home or walking on a beach somewhere at sunset.

How can readers connect with you?

Best way to connect with me would be on my website, www.djwilliamsbooks.com. You’ll also find links there to Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and others. I’d love to hear from you!

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know?

I write under D.J. as a way to honor my mom who passed away a few years ago. Anytime I was in trouble she would call me out by those initials. I promised myself if I ever finished a novel and got it published that I would dedicate it to her. Now I think I’ll keep it because I’m sure in the stories ahead I’ll find myself in trouble more than once.

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Pursue your dreams! We get one shot to live life on this earth, and taking chances and risk is part of the adventure. Whatever it is you dream of accomplishing, put your heart and soul into it and watch what will happen.

Buy The Disillusioned on Amazon

Buy The Disillusioned on Barnes and Noble

One thought on “Interview With Author D.J. Williams (Mystery, The Disillusioned)

Leave a Reply

