Interview With Author Isis Sousa (The Night of Elisa, Gothic)

THE NIGHT OF ELISA COVER-complete-w

DSC_1751-square-small

In your own words, please describe your book.

The Night of Elisa is a beautiful Gothic tale, thought with dark ideas hidden between the lines. One must dig to find the hidden meanings in the almost-innocent storytelling approach used for this book.

What was the inspiration behind your book?

It all started with a dream; literally and metaphorically speaking. The first idea came out of a dream I had about this place, which is called Duskland in the book. The other part of the idea came from the dream of making / writing my own illustrated fiction book. So I blended both sides of this dream into what is now a piece of reality.

What led you into writing? Was it a lifelong ambition, or the result of some type of turning point in your life?

What led me into writing was the urge of expressing myself in first place, sharing with the world the tales I had in my imagination. I always did it through illustration, though the most effective way of story-telling for me came through writing/illustrating my own books. This way the words can complete the pictures and the pictures can complete the words.

What are you working on now?

On my next title, “A Cold-Hearted Phoenix”. A very challenging work as it is set in urban environment and in the present – yeah, fantasy/historical works are so much easier for me! The main character is psychologically challenging for her complexity and the challenges she goes through along the story.

In your own words, please tell us about yourself.

I am an illustrator and graphic designer and started writing fiction a couple of years ago. I love Heavy Metal and Fantasy/Dark Fantasy art. Love classic literature and classical painting/art in general. I am also a fan of History, Psychology, Anthropology, and several branches of science.

What are some of your likes and dislikes?

I don’t like much contemporary works of literature… If you wonder why, that’s because I think most  (not all) authors nowadays write books for a market which has been dictated and shaped by the big presses. I think most modern books, regardless of the genre are trendy and shallow, missing the true point of storytelling. But don’t get me wrong – there are some pretty good authors out there; you just have to dig more to find them.

How can readers connect with you?

Through my GoodReads page, also, through DevianArt (if they happen to like such art communities), e-mail and Facebook.

If there was one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Have faith in yourself. Believe in your dreams.

Buy Links:

Smashwords 

Amazon

LuLu Paperback

2 thoughts on “Interview With Author Isis Sousa (The Night of Elisa, Gothic)

Leave a Reply

