Interview With Author RJ Blain (Inquisitor, Urban Fantasy)

Inquisitor - RJ Blain

Profile Sketch - RJ Blain

Selfie in Scarlet - Take 3 009 - Cropped

What is the genre?

Technically, Inquisitor falls under the ‘Urban Fantasy’ genre, but it is really an action adventure thriller at heart. It has a little bit of the supernatural and paranormal, has some magic, and a healthy dose of suspense and intrigue. I guess the truth is, well, this novel is a bit of a mutt.

I really let my inspiration and creativity take me down whatever path it felt like, and I’m really glad I decided to defy a lot of the normal. It even has a healthy side dose of romance in it!

What inspired you to write this book?

In part, I want to say Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files really inspired me to play with a first person Urban Fantasy – with darkness and suspense and thrills. I loved how he created a world within our world, and made it feel real. I wanted to do the same thing… except I wanted to make it something unique to me.

One day, I was thinking about werewolves, and had this little idea…

The rest is history.

I might have been feeling a bit murderous too at the time, considering the body count in this novel…

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

This book is both a standalone and part of a series. The series is collectively called ‘Witch & Wolf Novels’ but each novel in the ‘series’ stands alone. Each novel features a different witch or wolf, though readers will find there are situations where the characters overlap.

Someday, some familiar leads will reappear and take the main character role again, although I have so many stories in this version of our world I want to tell that it may take me a while to get back to a single character.

What books are similar to this one?

If I had to pick a few books, I would almost say that Inquisitor is the love child of The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher and the Alpha and Omega series by Patricia Briggs. That’s the closest I can really think of as similar books. My Witch & Wolf novels are much more thriller-oriented than Alpha & Omega, and they are also a lot less focused on one place and one person than The Dresden Files. Inquisitor, in particular, does share some of The Dresden File’s grittiness, although the main character is so not a detective of any sort. She’s actually an accountant and business woman with a side dish of werewolf.

Where can readers find your book?

Inquisitor is currently available on Amazon.

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

When Inquisitor first hit the wilds and got into the hands of some early readers, I was terrified it wouldn’t do well. But then one by one, a few people approached me with a common complaint: The book caused them to lose a day of their life. I was responsible for two missed appointments, a mother who almost failed to pick her kids up from school, and one reader skipped an entire day from work.

If my life was a computer or xbox game, I’d have a new ‘Achievement Unlocked.’ I’ve read a few books that have done this to me, and the feeling is fantastic—even with the consequences after.

That one of my books did this to several people on its first day is something I’ll never forget.

How do you come up with the titles of your book?

Pain, suffering, tears, frustration, asking my friends and readers for a poll of opinions, and a brief moment of inspiration. A lot of my novels start their lives with absolutely idiotic titles. One of my current projects is called “A Horse Named Corn” because it was the first animal to have a name in the book. I mean, the horse is an important character, but this temporary title is ridiculous.

How long does it take you to finish a novel?

My mileage varies. I started Inquisitor in November and finished it the last week of April. Storm Without End took me exactly a year almost to the day. I’ve been refining the process of how I write my novels, but each story is different. Some stories I draft (and copy from the handwritten journals) really quickly. Others are slaved on for years. I have one novel I’m hoping to release this year that I’ve been working on for almost four years now!

How can readers connect with you?

There are lots of ways readers can get in touch with me. Here is a brief list of my most common roosts:

Blog: http://rjblain.com
Google+: https://plus.google.com/+RJBlain-Author/posts
Twitter: http://twitter.com/rj_blain
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7190903.R_J_Blain

What are you working on now?

I am working on four books right now, all in various stages of completion. The next two I’m spending most of my time on are Storm Surge and Royal Slaves, the sequels to Storm Without End and The Eye of God.

Do you have any other books already released?

I do! Here is a description of them and where you can find them. Both of these titles are the first of a series, with the second books of the series due out later in 2014.

Storm Without End (Requiem for the Rift King, Book 1)

Kalen’s throne is his saddle, his crown is the dirt on his brow, and his right to rule is sealed in the blood that stains his hand. Few know the truth about the one-armed Rift King, and he prefers it that way. When people get too close to him, they either betray him or die. The Rift he rules cares nothing for the weak. More often than not, even the strong fail to survive.

When he’s abducted, his disappearance threatens to destroy his home, his people, and start a hopeless and bloody war. There are many who desire his death, and few who hope for his survival. With peace in the Six Kingdoms quickly crumbling, it falls on him to try to stop the conflict swiftly taking the entire continent by storm.

But something even more terrifying than the machinations of men has returned to the lands: The skreed. They haven’t been seen for a thousand years, and even the true power of the Rift King might not be enough to save his people — and the world — from destruction.

Available now at Amazon

The Eye of God (The Fall of Erelith, Book 1)

Blaise tries to act like a good human, but someone always manages to ruin things for him. When the Emperor’s most powerful weapon is stolen and its human vessel is kidnapped from the Arena, Blaise must choose between meddling in the affairs of mortals or remaining true to his duty.

To make matters worse, the Archbishop has betrayed the church and God by giving the Emperor the second piece of the Triad, the Heart of God. Should Blaise stand idle and leave the mortals to their own devices, the people of Erelith won’t just lose their lives: Their souls will be destroyed by a power that was never meant to fall into mortal hands.

If Blaise can find the Eye of God, he might be able to save the humans from themselves. Unfortunately, his only hope for success lies in the hands of a slave who wants nothing more than to die. If Blaise can’t save Terin and enlist his help, the Erelith Empire will fall.

Available now at Amazon

One thought on “Interview With Author RJ Blain (Inquisitor, Urban Fantasy)

Leave a Reply

