Interview With Author A.R. Shaw (Graham’s Resolution, Dystopian)

grproofprintedition (533x800)

In your own words, please describe your book….
I’ve read many post-apocalyptic books in the past and the one thing that struck me is the main character is always prepared for the apocalypse. He somehow knew the ending hung right around the corner, had special skills or a boatload of supplies to help him get through it all.

I wanted to write a story that would take a different approach; a more realistic approach. One where a regular guy, one who had everything in life going for him, beautiful wife, career etc., found himself in the situation he could never fathom with everything ripped from him.

That is the premise of Graham’s Resolution. All is torn from him and yet he’s expected to go on AND he’s expected to help other go on too; to create life anew.

What is the genre?
Science fiction, Post-apocalyptic, dystopian

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?
Yes, this book will be a series. Graham’s Resolution is the name of the series and The China Pandemic is the title of Book 1. Book 2 is coming out shortly. I plan for there to be a third or fourth based on the seasons.

What message would you like to convey with this book?
Survival. Even when the worst has happened there is always hope for survival. It may be messy but it’s worth it.

What books are similar to this one?
This book has been compared to One Second After by Forstchen. That’s a great compliment, I’ve read it. I would also say is comparable to The Road by McCarthy, The Survivalist Series by American, World Made by Hand by Kunstler and Into the Forest by Hegland.

Where can readers find your book?
The ebook version is only available at Amazon.

Paperback is available at
Amazon
Create Space
Barnes & Noble

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?
I’m a wife and mother. I have two children currently in college and a third in high school. I also spend my working day with my yellow lab Oakley. He’s a great source of inspiration and consumer of my uneaten lunches.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?
I was a radio operator in the Air Force Reserves just before Desert Storm.

What has been the best moment in your writing career?
My first review. It was a perfect four star.

How do you come up with the titles of your book?
It’s tough. I mull over the possibilities while writing the book and then hope that something comes to me. It has to be right. The China Pandemic came pretty quickly but the title for book two still has me stumped.

How long does it take you to finish a novel?
Typically it takes about three months but I’m rounding the four on book two.

How can readers connect with you?
They can connect with me on my website.
Twitter @ARShawAuthor
Facebook Page

What are you working on now?
Currently, I’m performing edits and rewrites for book 2 in the series.

Do you have any other books already released?
I do have a small non-fiction book out besides The China Pandemic.

2 thoughts on “Interview With Author A.R. Shaw (Graham’s Resolution, Dystopian)

Leave a Reply

