Interview With Author Lisa Regan (Hold Still, Thriller)

hold_still_ebook_2500

lisareganauthorphoto1

In your own words, please describe your book….
It is a dark, gritty crime thriller. I think if readers like shows like Law & Order (SVU) and CSI and books by James Patterson or Karin Slaughter, they’ll enjoy this.

What is the genre?

Crime thriller/Suspense

What inspired you to write this book?

Well I always wanted to do a book set in my native Philadelphia that would show the city’s gritty side. Also I had seen a special on television years ago about prostitutes in this area and in Atlantic City and I was struck by how much victimization was simply a way of life for them. So many crimes against them went unreported—it was really astounding. That is something this book touches on—the bad guys can fly under the radar for years because they’re committing crimes against victims who are unlikely to report it because they just don’t believe there is any help out there for them.

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?  

This is going to be a series. Jocelyn and Anita go into business together, opening a private investigation firm so there will be lots of crimes to solve. I’m obsessed with missing persons and cold cases so they’ll likely get caught up in many of those types of cases.

What books are similar to this one?

Probably Karin Slaughter’s Triptych or Blindsighted; Lisa Gardner’s Say Goodbye; Greg Iles’ Blood Memory.

Where can readers find your book?

Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Sony, Smashwords

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

Well I am a mother and a wife. I work full-time. I live in Philadelphia. I’ve been writing since I was eleven years old. I’m a sucker for sweets. Pastries, pies, ice cream candy—it’s a real vice! I studied martial arts for ten years and I watch old episodes of Friends every chance I get.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

I can’t watch gory scenes in shows and movies. Odd since I write about violence, but yeah, I literally have to cover my eyes when blood is flying. There are entire segments of Boardwalk Empire and Game of Thrones I simply cannot watch. My brother thinks it’s hilarious that a crime writer can’t watch violent shows!

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

Last year my debut novel, Finding Claire Fletcher won Best Heroine in the eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook Awards and was runner up for Best Novel. It was especially gratifying considering how many agents and publishers passed on it—and given the fact that it took 8 years to get it into print.

How long does it take you to finish a novel?
From first word to final, finished draft, about 2 years. I had written the first draft of Hold Still in the summer of 2012. Then it sat for a long time and last summer I decided to try to get it finalized and worked on it pretty continuously right up until publication.

How can readers connect with you?

The best way is via email or Facebook. I have an author page there. I do have a Twitter account but I’m not on there as much as I am on Facebook. I also have a website.

What are you working on now?

I am working on a book called Harm. It’s a bit of a departure for me. It’s not a straight up crime novel/police procedural like my others. It’s about a telekinetic boy on the run from various factions who want to use his powers for not-so-great things.

Do you have any other books already released? 

My first novel, Finding Claire Fletcher was released from Sapphire Star Publishing in December 2012 and my second novel, Aberration was released also by Sapphire Star Publishing in June 2013. They’re both available as ebooks and paperbacks at all the usual places.

3 thoughts on “Interview With Author Lisa Regan (Hold Still, Thriller)

Leave a Reply

