Interview With Author Kristen Ethridge (The Holiday Hearts Collection, Contemporary Romance)

holiday hearts cover

Kristen Ethridge Headshot 1

In your own words, please describe your book….

Holiday Hearts Volume One is a collection of three previously released novellas. All three stories center around finding love on some of the most special days of the year—in this case, New Year’s Eve, Valentine’s Day, and St. Patrick’s Day.



What is the genre?

These stories are contemporary romance



What inspired you to write this book?

I was brainstorming some ideas and I just loved the idea of a series that followed different romances through different holidays. I love holidays and I think most people do too. It’s always fun to have a story you can make an emotional connection with, and most people have an emotional connection with holidays, especially their favorite ones.



Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

There will be six Holiday Hearts stories this year. These first three center around New Year’s Eve, Valentine’s Day, and St. Patrick’s Day. Later this year, there will be stories about July 4th, Thanksgiving, and Christmas



Where can readers find your book?

For now, all of the Holiday Hearts stories are available exclusively on Amazon.



Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

I’ve been writing most of my life. I wrote my first poem in first grade, had my first publishing credit in third grade, and started my first book in fourth grade. I love writing stories and creating characters.



What has been the best moment in your writing career?

The stretch of March-April 2012 was definitely the high point for me. I got the call that I was a finalist in the Romance Writers of America Golden Heart contest. Two weeks later, I got an email from Melissa Endlich at Harlequin’s Love Inspired line that she’d gotten my book through Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write contest and was interested in it. Two weeks after that, Melissa called and made an offer to buy the book. It was like a wonderful whirlwind for that four to five weeks!


How do you come up with the titles of your book?

Honestly, the titles just come to me. And they’re often the first thing I think of when I’m working on a book. I’ll usually think up a title and the idea for the story comes after that.


How long does it take you to finish a novel?

It depends. Most of my novellas are getting finished in about a month, sometimes a little less. A full novel probably takes me about two months or a little longer. I’ve been unfortunately dealing with some serious back problems—I’ll be having surgery in the not-too-distant future—so it’s taking me a little longer than I’d like these days!


How can readers connect with you?

I’m online at www.kristenethridge.com, where I blog not just about books and writing, but about real food and natural living and family. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/kristenethridgebooks and Pinterest at www.pinterest.com/kethridgebooks



What are you working on now?

In addition to the other Holiday Hearts stories, I’m finishing up a first-person romance called Gorilla Dating. I hope to have it out at the beginning of June. It was inspired by my worst date ever—some friends of mine jokingly said I should make the story into a book. So…I did. Writers can get their ideas from anywhere!



Do you have any other books already released?

My first book with Harlequin’s Love Inspired line, Saving Gracie, came out last year. It’s still available online.

One thought on “Interview With Author Kristen Ethridge (The Holiday Hearts Collection, Contemporary Romance)

Leave a Reply

