Interview With Author Tracy Tappan (The Bloodline War, Paranormal Romance)

Bloodline War 600 wide 72dpi

Tracy Tappan 300dpi

In your own words, please describe your book….
THE BLOODLINE WAR is an action-packed story about an endangered breed of human who are kidnapping genetically enhanced women to save their race. Expect the story to dip into the darker side of life at times, but a happy ending waits, for sure.


What is the genre?
Paranormal romance


What inspired you to write this book?
I can’t recall exactly what inspired the series, but I remember really needing a break from the current manuscript I was working on. My roots aren’t in paranormal, so it was a welcome stretch. I think what really appealed to me about the genre was being able to create my own set of World Rules. Once those rules are set, I stick my characters into situations where they have to or want to break those rules for their emotional and/or physical wellbeing. But these are RULES, right, and so inherently unbreakable, which creates fodder for a lot of juicy tangles.


Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

THE BLOODLINE WAR is the first book in The Community Series (end date undetermined), and I plan to keep readers satisfied. Book two, THE PUREST OF THE BREED, focusing on three characters from the notorious Nichita family, including smoldering Dev, and Book three, DEEP IN THE HEART, delving into the love life struggles of blond hottie Thomal Costache and scary Nyko Brun (you’ll know these great guys once you read the first book!), are already heading into edits. All books in the series are standalone.

What message would you like to convey with this book?
Ah, jeez, I’d say the overarching theme of all my romance novels is probably pretty cliché, with “love conquers all.” I suppose after being married a quarter of a century to a man who remains my best friend has made me believe in that.

 


What books are similar to this one?
I’ve had several reviewers compare THE BLOODLINE WAR to JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood, as well as Sherrilyn Kenyon’s books. Since both these authors are inarguably superb storytellers, this is a profound compliment.


Where can readers find your book?
Right now I’m exclusively on Amazon. Both Kindle and print versions are available.


Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?
I was born with a fertile imagination, and that takes me all kinds of interesting places in my writing. I create some of my scenes along the lines of what I like to refer to as “car accident” scenes: you’re not sure if you want to look at what’s going on, but you can’t help yourself, and when you do, you’re morbidly fascinated despite yourself.


Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

How about one of my most embarrassing moments? When I was in 7th grade, my biology teacher asked me to read out my definition for organism. To which I answered, “An orgasm is a single-celled life form that—” I couldn’t get any further. Everyone in the classroom (the teacher included) was laughing their butts off. While I, of course, sank beneath my desk. You know…now that I think on it, I should’ve seen that as a foreshadowing of things to come. With orgasms on the brain even at that young age, how could I not end up as a romance author?

 

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

I think the best is yet to come.

 

How do you come up with the titles of your books?

My books somehow manage to name themselves. I usually don’t go into a story with a title in mind. Something just pops out at me by the end.

 

How long does it take you to finish a novel?

Probably somewhere in the neighborhood of three to six months. But that’s a first draft. I’m the type of author who needs to let her work “sit” for a couple of months before going back to it, and then I can pick up on all kinds of things I missed the first time around. After that, it’s off to developmental editors, copy editors, etc. Turning out a good product is paramount to me.


How can readers connect with you?
Oh, I’m everywhere: Facebook and Pinterest, under Tracy Tappan Romance Author, Twitter at @TracyTappan, I answer all emails at tracy@tracytappan.com and my website is www.tracytappan.com


What are you working on now?
In addition to all the writing I’m doing, I have a fun reader-focused website called The Character Couch (www.charactercouch.com). Fans can go here and nominate a beloved romance couple to go into a light therapy session. So far the participating authors and I have been having a lot of fun with this, doing contests and giveaways, and readers really enjoy seeing their favorite characters depicted in this innovative way. I post a new session each month, so the site keeps me very busy. I also have a FB page, The Character Couch, where fans can learn more about the month’s spotlight author and book.


Do you have any other books already released?

Nope. But I write in three genres, so a lot is coming!


Leave a Reply

