Interview With Author S. Briones Lim (Parricide, Horror)

parricide

s-briones-lim

In your own words, please describe your book….

Parricide is a book of sorrow, heartbreak, revenge and unconditional love. It follows Stanley Heckley’s journey from family man to murderer by weaving together past and present. Though an Anti-Hero story, what makes Parricide different is that it brings back the true idea of a vampire – a frightening monster drawn by the allure of blood. However, there are some romantic undertones that’ll please romance lovers as well.


What is the genre? The book is supernatural horror


What inspired you to write this book?

My husband and I were watching True Blood one night, when he casually asked, “Why isn’t there a story about a vampire destroying an entire bloodline?” That one question alone sparked a whole story in my head and I knew I had to right it asap!


Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

Parricide can be read alone and was originally intended to be a standalone novel. However, a number of my readers were drawn to one of the characters, Geoff, and really wanted to learn more about him and to see what became of him after the world of Parricide. Due to the interest, I am beginning to write a companion novel about Geoff, which hopefully will be release by the end of the year.


What message would you like to convey with this book?

As with my other novels, I wanted to convey the importance of family. Despite Stanley’s vengeful plight, he acted with his family in mind.


What books are similar to this one?

I think the Horror and Romance aspect of Parricide will please fans of the Sookie Stackhouse novels. It has gore, blood and also sexy vampires!


Where can readers find your book?

Readers can find my book on Lulu, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and the iBookstore.


Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

I’m known as the “creepy one” in my circle of friends. Ever since I was a child, I loved all things that went bump in the night and was always fascinated with ghosts, vampires and werewolves. I guess some things never change, and I took the love of paranormal with me in writing Parricide. I hope this love shines through! That being said, if you know of any awesome Ghost Tours, or Ghost Investigations that I can tag along with, please tell me!


Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

I am obsessed with popcorn and can eat it for breakfast, lunch, dinner and any snacks in between! My most recent obsession is with jalapeño topped buttered popcorn. Mmmm, my stomach is grumbling as we speak!


What has been the best moment in your writing career?

I think the best moments so far have just been from getting positive responses to my books. My stories are like my babies and whenever I hear someone else loved them as much as I did, well it totally makes my day 🙂


How do you come up with the titles of your books?

It all depends really, though I have been known to pick one word titles 🙂 I tend to choose titles that symbolize a main idea in the book. For example, the title, Parricide, encompasses Stanley’s (warped) frame of mind throughout the whole novel.


How long does it take you to finish a novel?

Free time is a big factor that basically decides the length of time. Currently, I work full time, so basically the only time I can write is during lunch breaks or when I am off from work. It can take anywhere from a few weeks to a few months!


How can readers connect with you?

Readers can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram: username: sbrioneslim or Pinterest: sbrioneslim

If there is a social media outlet, I am most likely there. Just search for my name 🙂 I love meeting new people and would love to interact with my readers!


What are you working on now?

I’ve had a story brewing inside of me since 2006. It’s a pretty dark story and perhaps that is the reason why it took me eight years to write it! That being said, I have tweaked my original idea a bit, so it isn’t as morbid as it was originally intended to be. It is a New Adult book, which I am currently on the final legs of.


Do you have any other books already released?

My Life Force Trilogy is now available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Check it out and let me know what you think!


One thought on “Interview With Author S. Briones Lim (Parricide, Horror)

Leave a Reply

