Interview With Author Tanisha Shanee (Transition To A Healthier You: How I Lost Over 140 Pounds, and You Can TOO!, Self-Help)

howilost

In your own words, please describe your book….

This book is my baby. It is a true reflection of this journey. The journey of transitioning from an unhealthy individual who felt food was essential to a healthy one. I want people who are like me to understand life is possible, and being healthy can be fun and easy.

What is the genre? Self-help, Inspiration, and Health/Wellness

What inspired you to write this book?

As I lost the weight, my journey became public. My friends started to share my before and after pictures, and before I knew it, people were asking me for help and guidance. People wanted to learn about how I did it. Once I realized I had the ability to master this, I felt it was necessary to help others as they went through this process. We think this is hard, but I want people to realize it can be easy. I wrote this book for the real people who feel hopeless…

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?
I do plan to write another book. How To Maintain This Lifestyle… I want people to understand losing the weight is only half the battle.

What message would you like to convey with this book?

Being obese is an option. It was the life I decided to live after 28 years. Now, it is time to stop and make changes. They are necessary, and people need to meet real people who can relate to their struggles. I am not paid millions of dollars to lose weight, but it does not mean I did not lose it right. People need to see more regular people doing it right and the healthy way. Celebrities endorse unrealistic products and goals, but I am an ordinary person.

What books are similar to this one?
The Shift : How I Finally Lost Weight and Discovered a Happier Life by Tory Johnson; Winning by Losing: Drop the Weight, Change your Life by Jillian Michaels; Secrets of a Former Fat Girl : How to Lose Two, Four, (or More!) Dress Sizes – And Find Yourself Along the Way by Lisa Delaney

Where can readers find your book?

Currently, you may purchase the eBook via Amazon and the hardcopy via The BookPatch bookstore.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

The writer is a teacher. After attempting different careers, I found my career – adult education. But, once I realized this lifestyle was bigger than losing weight, spreading the word of healthy living is my new passion. In addition to teaching, I am a motivational speaker and I conduct workshops to assist others in their journey. Lastly, I am now a Weight Loss Coach. I coach people around the world (clients in Alabama, North Carolina, Virginia, The Virgin Islands, and of course, New York City.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know? I am a nerd at heart. My favorite shows are The Office and The Big Bang Theory

What has been the best moment in your writing career? Finishing my first book has been my greatest moment as a writer.

How did you come up with the title of your book?

I had the title a long time ago. I just never had the time to focus on the book. A breakup forced me to focus on this book. It was therapy.

How can readers connect with you? Readers can connect me via Twitter (@successweight2) and Facebook: (AskTanisha or SuccessWeightProgram)

What are you working on now?

I am currently working on establishing relationships with organizations to conduct workshops, get as many opportunities as possible to speak to people across the country, spreading the word of my book, and gaining new Weight Loss Coaching clients.

Do you have any other books already released? No
 

Leave a Reply

