Interview With Author Elizabeth Woodrum (Maisy and the Missing Mice, Juvenile Fiction)

Maisy Cover Final

Elizabeth Woodrum

In your own words, please describe your book….

Maisy and the Missing Mice is an adventure filled with mystery and lollipops. It’s a page-turning read that encourages young readers to actively participate by following the clues to solve the mystery along with Maisy.

What inspired you to write this book?

I have been a teacher for twelve years and most of that time has been spent working with fourth grade students. I think the thing that inspired me most was working with a variety of young people over the years. As a teacher, I create many different activities for my students, and Maisy actually began as a short activity for my classroom. Being able to see what holds the attention of my targeted audience has made it much easier to write for them.

I was also a big fan of the show Veronica Mars, which was about a teenaged private detective. Some inspiration for the book came from my enjoyment of a variety of mystery books and shows. But, there is actually a little shout out to Veronica Mars in the book in that Maisy’s best friend is named Veronica.


Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

I plan to have Maisy and the Missing Mice be the first of many books in a series that is titled The Maisy Files. I’m currently hard at work on book number two! Each book in the series will likely focus on one main mystery for Maisy to solve.

What message would you like to convey with this book?

Even though the main character is a girl, I’d like to convey the message to all children that it’s possible to find your dream early and go for it.

What books are similar to this one?

Some of the people who have written reviews for the book have stated that they find it similar to the Nancy Drew novels or The Hardy Boys novels. Some have compared Maisy to Nancy Drew and Sherlock Holmes.

Where can readers find your book?

The ebook is exclusively listed in Kindle format on Amazon.com. Amazon Prime members with a Kindle can read it for free when borrowed from the Kindle Owners’ Lending Library. The paperback is available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and a variety of other book seller websites, including Half Price Books. There is also an audio book edition that is available through Amazon.com or Audible.com.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

Even though I’ve created a character with a strong love for cherry lollipops, my guilty pleasure is anything that is chocolate! I also have a passion for helping mistreated animals, with a special soft spot for dogs. I adopted my dog, Reese Cup, from a local rescue organization. She had been abandoned, but is now getting appropriately spoiled on a daily basis! I like to donate to the cause whenever possible. It would be one of my proudest accomplishments to be able to donate more.

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

The best moment of my career actually came just a few days ago. My elementary school has a Right to Read week that consists of many events for the students. One of the days was a character dress up day. Two of my students chose to dress up as Maisy. It was a very nice surprise!

How long does it take you to finish a novel?

Maisy and the Missing Mice is my first completed work. It took me roughly two months to complete it.


How can readers connect with you?

I am available through my website at www.elizabethwoodrum.com. Readers can connect through my blog or even through a direct email contact form. I’m also active on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.


What are you working on now?

I’m currently working on book two in The Maisy Files series. I’m hoping to have it released by the end of Spring.

 

One thought on “Interview With Author Elizabeth Woodrum (Maisy and the Missing Mice, Juvenile Fiction)

Leave a Reply

