Interview With Author Jennifer Ott (Edge Of Civilization, Literary Fiction)

Edge of Civilizationsm

bio-picsm

In your own words, please describe your book….

Quirky, inspiring, melancholy and a real tearjerker. It’s a sweet, hopeful story of the homecoming of a Vietnam Vet.


What is the genre?

Literary fiction.

What inspired you to write this book?

My mother used to work at a mental hospital that at one time housed many Vietnam Vets, but the government stopped funding and many of these veterans ended up homeless and on the streets. I always found this a travesty. This men and women gave bodies, heart, souls and even their minds for our country. I wanted to write something to honor the soldiers who are forgotten.

The story however came from my obsession for the movie, Excalibur. I was taken with the character King Arthur and couldn’t get the character out of my mind. I had an old short script about a Vietnam Veteran in the Nevada desert and somehow the two merged. My main character, Earl is a homeless vet but with a regal, honorable demeanor of Kind Arthur and he sets out on a quest to find his way back to civilization.


Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

Stand alone.


What message would you like to convey with this book?

To appreciate our veterans and to have compassion and empathy for the homeless. Many of them (older ones) are Vietnam Veterans who never were able to adapt back into society.

What books are similar to this one?

 Honestly not sure.

Where can readers find your book?

Amazon


Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

Quirky and weird…LOL. Years ago, I applied to get a Master’s degree at a college in England. I received a very nice rejection based on my thesis and I quote, “Caring is not a curriculum.” My first thought was it should be. We need more caring in the world.

I am very into politics and a news junkie. I have also walked a spiritual path the past couple years, so most of the books I write are about some injustice or issue in society. I also believe writing about problems with humor helps accept challenging issues. My inspirations for story-telling are a mix of John Steinbeck and Monty Python – humanitarian, quirky and weird.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

I would refrain from getting into political discussions with me. I always have to have the last word.

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

The best moment for Edge of Civilization was from my editor before it was published. She asked for a copy to donate to the veterans’ hospital where her father goes. This is an honor and better than a five star reviews.

How did you come up with the title of your book?

Edge of Civilization just seemed to fit the book perfectly. This is where most veterans live when they can’t fully adapt back into civilian life.

How long does it take you to finish a novel?

I wrote Edge of Civilization years ago and published it only on Lulu. I went back to and added younger Earl’s story. So in total, it took me about 3 years to finish.


How can readers connect with you?

Facebook, Twitter, or my website – SuperJeniuspublications.com

I also have a Radio Show on the Artist First Radio Network – The SuperJenius Show.

I interview other authors, artists and humanitarians. It is my way of giving back and helps elevate other’s talents.

What are you working on now?

I am finishing a romantic saga.


Do you have any other books already released?

Yes several –

Ooh Baby Compound Me! Was my first book. It is a non-fiction satire that compares credit card companies to fraternity hazing.

Wild Horses is a fiction fantasy satire that compares dating to horseracing and a follow up non-fiction dating handbook called Love & Handicapping.

Serendipidus – A new age fantasy about the end of the world.

Thanks for letting us interview you!

My pleasure

2 thoughts on “Interview With Author Jennifer Ott (Edge Of Civilization, Literary Fiction)

Leave a Reply

