Interview With Author Christina George (The Rise Of The Sidhe, Fantasy)

book cover rise of the sidhe

pic for blog tour

In your own words, please describe The Rise Of The Sidhe….

It’s an adventure story. I want people to read it and get the same buzz they get from watching Indiana Jones. It is set in 1916 so there is a lot going on, War is raging in Europe and a sequence of events are about to unfold that would lead to the rebellion of a nation. Did I mention that there are fairies in the book?

What inspired you to write this book?

I began writing the book back in 2010, I was between jobs and had always wanted to write a book and thought what the hell, it’s now or never. The story is subtly inspired by an old Irish song My Lagan Love:

And like a love sick Leanan Sidhe

She hath my heart enthral

No life I own nor liberty

For love is lord of all

I started researching Irish mythology and became really interested in the Leanan Sidhe. She was a dark muse that inspired men to great art. The bad side being that the greater the art became the more she drained from the artist. Eventually he would pine away, this sort of thing is pretty standard in Irish myth. We love a dark story!

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

The book was never intended to be part of a series but as the story developed I can honestly say that I deliberately left a couple of things open. I am pretty excited about my next two writing projects at the moment and I definitely want to get working on them. That however does not mean I will not go back to ROTS eventually.

What message would you like to convey with The Rise Of The Sidhe?

It is a fantasy story packed full of danger, darkness and a few historical events to keep things interesting. It really is just a bit of fun!

Where can readers find your book?

The Rise of the Sidhe is for sale on Amazon for Kindle:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00HZRWH2U

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

I grew up in Dundalk, Co. Louth but I am originally from Belfast. I have always loved Irish Myth. I could see elements of it had been utilised by CS Lewis and Tolkien. The difference was that they had based their works in another realm: Narnia and Middle Earth. I wanted to create something that utilised Irish Myth but based it in Ireland. I thought a lot about when and where the events should take place and felt that the run up to the Easter Rising was an interesting time period. I ended up creating a fictitious village for the de Verdun’s to live in. I called it Castlecross, it’s a mixture of two place names near where I live. It just made things a little easier to create a history and location for the story. For example in the book there is a tower with a secret passage to the bay, this was based on local legends of Cú Chulainn’s Castle here in Dundalk. I grew up with these stories and loved weaving them throughout the novel.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

I can never find my car keys.

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

When I pressed the publish button on Amazon KDP. Pure elation.

How can readers connect with you?

I have a website www.cc-george.com and people can email me there, I also have a Facebook page and I can be contacted on Twitter

I am also on Goodreads, so any of the above really!

What are you working on now?

I am outlining a horror story, my niece has had a bit of trouble with sleep paralysis so I have been doing a bit of research on that. It’s a pretty interesting subject and I am really excited about writing the book but I don’t want to give too much away.

Leave a Reply

