Interview With Author Jennifer Ott (Serendipidus, Urban Fantasy)

serencversm

bio-picsm

In your own words, please describe your book….

Quirky and Weird.


What is the genre?

Urban Fantasy/Satire.

What inspired you to write this book?

It was a book I started based on a silly conversation with a friend. We were talking about why time seems to be moving so quickly, and I came up with the hair-brained idea it was because of pollutants in the air. The story then became “Supermodel saves world from ecological disaster.” It took me over 15 years to finish because I wasn’t quite sure HOW to save the world. After countless years of contemplating and meditating, I finally came up with an answer.

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

Stand alone, however I can see writing a series of short story based on character adventures in making the world a better place.

What message would you like to convey with this book?

One caring person can make a difference, just need to have hope, faith and conviction.

What books are similar to this one?

Honestly not sure.

Where can readers find your book?

Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

Quirky and weird…LOL. Years ago, I applied to get a Master’s degree at a college in England. I received a very nice rejection based on my thesis and I quote, “Caring is not a curriculum.” My first thought was it should be. We need more caring in the world.

I am very into politics and a news junkie. I have also walked a spiritual path the past couple years, so most of the books I write are about some injustice or issue in society. I also believe writing about problems with humor helps accept challenging issues. My inspirations for story-telling is a mix of John Steinbeck and Monty Python – humanitarian, quirky and weird.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

I would refrain from getting into political discussions with me. I always have to have the last word.

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

I am not one who focuses too much on reviews, but I have received a couple that made all the years of struggle worth it. When readers comment how much they loved my book, cried and re-read over and over. Well, that makes me feel good to touch people. I also had one reviewer comment on one of my books as a “Work of Art.” That was pretty awesome.

How do you come up with the titles of your book?

As everyone will probably realize, Serendipidus is not a real word. Yes, I, as a writer like to make up words. It was based a word my brother made-up when we were kids. The word he made up was “Skylabacus.” When writing I was thinking of the word serendipity…and well…Serendipidus.

Titles however are often a struggle. You want something short, catchy, memorable…I usually go with a word(s) that inspired the story.

How long does it take you to finish a novel?

It depends on the book. Serendipidus took me over 15 years. Over the past year, I have cranked out books in a couple months just based on my passion and creative juices. I think some stories take a little longer to develop and unfold in the mind of the writer, while others are just and emotional, passionate outlet. There’s no right or wrong way, it’s dependent on the book and the author.


How can readers connect with you?

Facebook pageSuperJenius Publications or Twitter.

I also have a Radio Show on the Artist First Radio Network – The SuperJenius Show.

I interview other authors, artists and humanitarians. It is my way of giving back and help elevate other’s talents.

What are you working on now?

I am finishing a romantic saga.


Do you have any other books already released?

Yes several –

Ooh Baby Compound Me! Was my first book. It is a non-fiction satire that compares credit card companies to fraternity hazing.

Wild Horses is a fiction fantasy satire that compares dating to horseracing and a follow up non-fiction dating handbook called Love & Handicapping.

Edge of Civilization is next up for release. It is a story about a displaced Vietnam Veteran finding his way back to civilization.

Thanks for letting us interview you!

My pleasure

2 thoughts on “Interview With Author Jennifer Ott (Serendipidus, Urban Fantasy)

Leave a Reply

