Interview With Author Erik Kort (The Fallen, Fantasy) @ErikMKort

GS1ECover

ErikPortrait2

The Fallen is written by Erik Kort and Lee French. To see an interview with Lee French, please click here.

In your own words, please describe your book…

The Fallen explores what it means to belong to something greater while still clinging to individuality. As her family’s seer, Chavali has struggled with that her whole life. Her gifts control and define her, and no matter what she wants, everyone else knows what she ought to do. Even as she struggles with her destiny, Chavali knows there’s no escape from the spirits that dwell inside her soul. She’s bound to keep the secrets of her family, secrets that attract attention to the nomadic Blaukenev family.

 

What is the genre?

It’s fantasy, mostly. It has some romance in there, but isn’t a romance. It’s epic, but not quite Epic Fantasy. I’d say it’s more light fantasy, with some dark bits thrown in. And this first book reads like a superhero origin story. Specific, I know!

 

What inspired you to write this book?

Cosmologies in fantasy novels have always fascinated me. They’re one of the very first things I plan whenever I sit down to create a new world. This time, I wanted to do something different and new that I hadn’t seen done before – I wanted a world rejected completely by the Creator that made it.

 

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

The Fallen is the first in The Greatest Sin series. Where The Fallen introduces Chavali and the world of Tizham, the series proper will explore how a world tries to win the love of the Creator back. Of course, some insist that “love” is just a fancy word for “sacrifice”, and Chavali isn’t the type to just lay down on anyone’s altar for the Greater Good.

 

What books are similar to this one?

There isn’t anything exactly similar. Michele Sagara’s “Cast In” series has the same sort of story-based series approach to fantasy, and has a strong female character that’s quite flawed. Both “The Black Company” by Glen Cook and “Malazan: Tales of the Fallen” by Stephen Erikson have a cast of skilled mercenary types, though both are considerably darker in tone.

 

Where can readers find your book?

Currently at Amazon in both ebook and paperback format.

 

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

Well, there are actually two of us: Lee French and Erik Kort. Since I’m the latter and the one currently yacking, I’ll say that I went to school for history and education, then got distracted by something shiny. I think rats are superior pets to hamsters, I’ve spent far too much time game mastering both online and at the tabletop, and I have an entire room devoted to books and tabletop games. I’m also married to the most tolerant woman in the world who has never doubted my ability to make something of my overactive imagination.

 

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

I wrote a very short story in a single day. Later, I found a short story contest and submitted it in a whim. When I got the check in the mail for winning, I can remember looking at the money and thinking, “Maybe I can do this thing.” It’s the small moments that matter.

 

How do you come up with the titles of your books?

Carefully. I prefer my titles to allude to something important in the novel without giving anything away. Or be memorable. Hopefully, they’ll be both.

 

How long does it take you to finish a novel?

It depends on how many twists the novel takes. I’m an outliner, so first I have to do that, which takes a few weeks. Writing the silly thing takes a few months at best, and then the editing process can vary depending on how much of a mess I’ve made of the story. On average, I can go from start to finish in under a year.

 

How can readers connect with you?

I’m available on Facebook, Twitter, and my personal website, www.ErikKort.com.

 

What are you working on now?

I’m finishing the editing process on a new fantasy novel, “Children Without Faces”, which is the first in a trilogy.

 

Do you have any other books already released?

This is my first book out of the gate, though I have several following on its heels. Lee French has written several wonderful books available on Amazon.

 

2 thoughts on “Interview With Author Erik Kort (The Fallen, Fantasy) @ErikMKort

Leave a Reply

