Interview With Author Gordon Gravley (Gospel For The Damned, Speculative Fiction)

Front Cover revised

Profile Picture

In your own words, please describe your book….

Gospel for the Damned is a work of speculative fiction about a young journalist’s three days inside the quarantined city of San Francisco. His assignment: To interview The Elliot Family, whose father, an eccentric minister, is the prime suspect in releasing the deadly Omega virus.

What is the genre?

Specifically, it is what I would call Literary-Speculative. Generally, though, I would say Science Fiction/Fantasy.

What inspired you to write this book?

The same thing that inspires all my writing: the simple need to write.

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

It was intended to be a single volume. But upon completing it, questions came up that I felt needed further examination, so I anticipate a sequel. However, it won’t become what I would call a series.

What books are similar to this one?

Fahrenheit 451, A Clockwork Orange, A Handmaid’s Tale

Where can readers find your book?

Right now, it is available exclusively online through Amazon.com, and the self-publishing platform I use, Createspace.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

After decades of self-doubt and errant life choices, I finally came to write Gospel for the Damned, my first novel. I’m busy working on my next two (one of which, a sequel to Gospel…). My wife and I live in the Northwest United States.

How do you come up with the titles of your book?

I start with a working title, and I as I write, its real title – what the book is really about – reveals itself. For instance, Gospel for the Damned was originally called “Plague Psalms.” Not a great title. In the process of writing, one of the characters stated, “The good news for the damned is the bond of hope it creates.” I knew at that moment what the novel was about, what the soul of the story was. And that became the title. (One dictionary definition of ‘gospel’ being: ‘good news.’)

How can readers connect with you?

Readers can visit my website: https://sites.google.com/site/gordongravleybooks/, or on Facebook. I can be contacted via email at: gordongravley@gmail.com. I can also be found on Goodreads and Freado.com, a great site to win free books.

What are you working on now?

A novel as different from Gospel… as can be, a story about a pair of out-of-work cowboys in 1910 who become seduced by the silent film industry.

Thanks for letting us interview you!

My pleasure. It was fun.

One thought on “Interview With Author Gordon Gravley (Gospel For The Damned, Speculative Fiction)

Leave a Reply

