Interview With Author Anne Garcia (Las Hechizadas, Fiction)

BookCoverImage

SONY DSC

In your own words, please describe your book….

Las Hechizadas is a book about journeys. It is set in Latin America and explores how one family and the community they live in, fights for truth, justice and the environment. The story weaves the lives of three generations from one family, all of who are in search of a way to live in harmony with the land and with those who wish to destroy it.

What is the genre? Fiction

What inspired you to write Las Hechizadas?

I was inspired to write this book because I spent several years living and traveling in Latin America. While there I observed many of things that happened in the book. I became friends with people whose stories felt important to tell. I was also inspired by the amazing power of nature and the roughness of the Andean mountain range, stretching from Venezuela to Patagonia.

Will this book be a standalone or part of the series? Stand alone

What message would you like to convey with Las Hechizadas?

I believe that the power of community and intention can overcome many obstacles. It is in the strength and beauty of human nature that we must depend on to make it through the hard times.

What books are similar to this one?

In the Time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez, House of Spirits by Isabel Allende,

Where can readers find your book?

The book is available online via amazon.com

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

I am a bilingual teacher and author in Colorado. Writing and reading has always been my passion and as part of my teaching I have documented my thinking as the years have passed. I have written one professional development book for ESL teachers and contributed to a book on comprehension strategy work. Currently I am working on a title that documents the importance of partnerships between community-based organizations and schools. In my free time I also write fiction. My first novel, Las Hechizadas, was released at the end of 2013. I am also writing two new bilingual children’s books.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

I live on the top of a mountain at 9,000 ft where the wind blows hard enough to make a woman crazy.

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

The best moments of my career are when I find the time to sit down and write.

How do you come up with the titles of your book?

I often brainstorm titles and then bounce them off either my co-authors or friends. I search for messages within the text and go from there.

How long does it take you to finish a novel?

Years.

How can readers connect with you?

I can be contacted via email at anneupczakgarcia@gmail.com

On Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Anne-Upczak-Garcia/486096314831032?ref=hl.

I also have an author profile on Goodreads.

What are you working on now?

I am working on the outline for my next novel as well as a young adult novel. I am also working on a book pitch about how community-based organizations and schools can partner up to impact high risk students. I also have two children’s books manuscripts in the works.

Do you have any other books already released?

The other books I have published are nonfiction titles about my work as an educator.

Ladybugs, Tornadoes, and Swirling Galaxies

Comprehension Going Forward: Where We Are and What’s Next

Scaffolding The Comprehension Toolkit for English Language Learners: Previews and Extensions to Support Content Comprehension

Thanks for letting us interview you!

One thought on “Interview With Author Anne Garcia (Las Hechizadas, Fiction)

Leave a Reply

