Interview With Janet Nissenson (Serendipity, Erotic Romance)

Serendipity_Ebook

JanetNissensonphoto

In your own words, please describe your book…. Serendipity is the story of Julia and Nathan, who spend a steamy hot night together while he is visiting New York City on business. She’s already half in love with him after just one night, but he breaks her heart the next morning when he confesses he has a fiancée waiting for him back home in San Francisco. They go their separate ways, not knowing anything about the other, including last names, occupations, or city of residence. Months pass but they each have trouble putting that night behind them and forgetting about the other. Julia’s life takes an unexpected turn and she finds herself relocating to San Francisco for a new job – that just happens to be at the same company where Nathan is a co-owner. What follows is their struggle to fight against their attraction towards each other, with Julia hopelessly in love with a man who belongs to someone else, and Nathan torn between the woman he’s determined to stay true to and the one he really wants.

What is the genre? Contemporary/erotic romance

What inspired you to write this book? I was getting weary of so many romance books where either the hero or heroine or both were seriously damaged people, and where the story focused on their struggles to overcome whatever trauma they suffered from. It was getting flat out depressing to read so many angst-filled stories, and I wanted to write something where the lead characters were perfectly normal, happy people and what was keeping them apart had nothing to do with their emotional wellbeing.

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series? This is a standalone book, with everything resolved by the end. There will, however, be five more related books in this series, each with its own lead characters and separate plot. Certain characters from some of the books will make appearances in other books but there will never be a multi-part book series or cliffhangers – not a fan of this trend!

What message would you like to convey with this book? That romance stories don’t have to contain characters who are damaged, addicted, traumatized, etc. and that you don’t have to be depressed at the end of a book. I think this trend started with the Fifty Shades book, and it has spread like wildfire ever since. I think it’s been sadly overused and nearly every book description I read these days sounds exactly like ten others. Let’s lighten up, people!

What books are similar to this one? The book has similar elements to Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series, to Christina Lauren’s Beautiful series, to Emma Chase’s Tangled, and to Gail McHugh’s Collide series.

Where can readers find your book? It is available from all major e-book retailers including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, Sony, Page Pusher and others.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book? This is my first book but I’ve been writing for several decades, mostly technical writing, professional articles, and other non-fiction. I live on the coast south of San Francisco with my husband and Golden Retriever, and have an adult daughter. I worked in the financial services industry for over two decades, am a former long-distance runner, and am currently dedicated to my yoga practice. In addition to writing, I love reading, baking, traveling, and have a mild addiction to Pinterest.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know? I can stand on my head for up to fifteen minutes at a time.

What has been the best moment in your writing career? Downloading my own book onto my Kindle and reading it on the device. Self-publishing has been a tremendous gift to many writers including myself.

How do you come up with the titles of your book? For Serendipity, the title came after the book was finished for the word itself is used in several different instances during the story. For the remaining books in the series, I wanted to keep some synchronicity so I decided to use all single word titles starting with the letter S. All of the future books are working titles, though, so they could change at any point.

How long does it take you to finish a novel? Serendipity took me over a year, mostly because I was a couple of months in before I felt the original storyline just wasn’t working and I had to start over. Then life threw me a curveball this year when my mother got ill and passed away, so the book took a backseat for a while. I’m hoping to write book two in the space of about three months.


How can readers connect with you?
My website/blog is www.janetnissenson.com. They can also connect with me at Goodreads, Facebook, or Twitter.

What are you working on now? The second book in the Inevitable series, which is tentatively titled Splendor. It is Ian and Tessa’s story and will be very romantic.

Do you have any other books already released? No, this is my first release.

Thanks for letting us interview you! It was my pleasure! Thank you for this privilege!

One thought on “Interview With Janet Nissenson (Serendipity, Erotic Romance)

Leave a Reply

