Interview With Kirsten Blacketer (An Irresistible Shadow, Historical Romance)

AnIrresistableShadow_600x900

1378105_575877865793353_756376007_n

The Interview:

In your own words, please describe your book….

A romance with the vague feeling of Robin Hood meets Assassin’s Creed with just a dash of Brave’s Merida thrown in the mix.

What is the genre?

Medieval Romance

What inspired you to write this book?

I originally got the idea for this book when I was fifteen. She haunted me for years, begging me to write her story.

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series? 

At first it began as a stand alone and in many ways it still is. I have written a second book, which is in the editing stage right now. It follows one of the secondary characters from the first novel. I can’t give any more information…spoilers! *wink* There is also a third book brewing in my brain. I’ve started calling this the Shadow Guardian Series.

What message would you like to convey with this book?

Love doesn’t have to be restrictive. It can be a type of freedom in and of itself. A relationship (marriage) is about partnership, not ownership.

What books are similar to this one?

Border Wedding by Amanda Scott; Plaid Tidings by Mia Marlowe; Kiss of the Highlander by Karen Marie Moning

Where can readers find your book?

You can find my book on Amazon, All Romance eBooks, or directly from Breathless Press  on their website.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

Not much interesting to know about the writer. I’m a stay at home mom, a military spouse, and a romance addict. Everything I write has some kind of romantic elements. I love first kiss scenes in books and movies.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

I’m a huge fandom nerd. I grew up watching Star Trek: The Next Generation and now I’m obsessed with Doctor Who and Game of Thrones.

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

The biggest moment so far was signing the contract for An Irresistible Shadow. It was like a dream come true.

How do you come up with the titles of your book?

My editor and I came up with the title after a long session of discussion possibilities. It just fit so perfectly and left the possibility for a series.

How long does it take you to finish a novel?

I wrote the first draft for National Novel Writing Month. One month, 50,000 words. My first round of edits took three weeks. The four rounds of edits with my publisher took me a little over a month. So total, I’d say around three months to write and edit the book. Not too shabby, if I say so myself.


How can readers connect with you?

You can find me on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Goodreads, and on my personal blog. Links available here:

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/KirstenSBlacketer

Blogs:

http://thesarcasticmuse.wordpress.com/

http://ksblacketer.wordpress.com/

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/KirstenSBlacketerAuthor

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/KirBlacketer

Tumblr:

http://kblackship.tumblr.com/


What are you working on now?

I have two projects started. A prohibition story and a collaboration project that will be a play once it’s completed. I will start edits on my second Shadow Guardian novel soon.

Do you have any other books already released? I have a short novella available from Jupiter Gardens Press. Full Throttle: Blood, Sweat, and Gears. It’s a romantic suspense featuring hot cars and an even hotter hero.

2 thoughts on “Interview With Kirsten Blacketer (An Irresistible Shadow, Historical Romance)

Leave a Reply

