Interview With Victoria Pinder (The Zoastra Affair, Science Fiction)

thezostraaffair500x700

professionalpic2

The Interview:

In your own words, please describe your book…

It’s a romance, but it didn’t start out that way. TO me this is more science fiction. Someone stole Ariel’s body, and she has to steal Grace’s body to set everything straight. Ariel’s goal is to go home. It’s what she’s desperate for, and willing to do the worst.

What is the genre?

It’s science fiction romance, though I always call it a space opera. Star Trek, Firefly, Star Wars, Battlestar Galactica are all space operas. So to me, that’s what this is too.

What inspired you to write this book?

See the list of my favorite shows and movies growing up? Science fiction requires a mythos behind it. But as a female, it was always hard for me to find fun space opera to read. All the science fiction books were fantasy or dark, dystopian end of the world. While dystopian is fun, space operas and the visual movies and television had more fun, adventure field. So I wrote what I wanted to read.

Will this book be a standalone or part of a series?

I hope it’s a series. I am writing the second book now. It would be a trilogy at least. The ultimate bad guys must be discovered. Who are they? Who are the blonds? Are they different? But first it’s a story about a crew on a mission, so the crew come first.

What message would you like to convey with this book?
Hard question. I don’t recommend stealing anyone else’s body or life. It can’t go well. I guess it’s a don’t covet what others have or you lack. We all have our own bag of issues no matter who are we.


What books are similar to The Zoastra Affair?
Star Trek novels come to mind first. But I wanted to be original and create my own world, my own mythology, and why we’re in space. But there are some great Star Trek novels that should have been movies. I recently read a few alien men need human women stories and I love those. Different than mine entirely. Alien, Mine was good. Some of the crew at the Science Fiction Brigade of writers have great books. Enders Game was a favorite book of my childhood. I can’t compare in similarity, but they were inspiring.


Where can readers find your book?
Amazon first. Soul Mate is ebook first. The print is in 9 months. Other markets come in between.


Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?
I grew up a sci fi girl. Dad took me to conventions. I met Leonard Nimoy. As a teenager I became interested in romance novels, but until then I was sci fi and comic books before it was hipster. In fact I have vivid memories of being one of the only girls who bought comic books on Wednesday. So my sci fi is based on what my heart wanted in a sci fi book.


Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

Until I met my fiancé I honestly thought I screwed up in life and somehow would always be single. Negative thinking, but there were so many Mr. ‘No Way’ that I gave up. Negative thinking entirely, and this coming from a romance writer.

What has been the best moment in your writing career?

My first RWA where I sat next to Susan Elizabeth Philips. I was so excited. I walked into a star studded event. Nora Roberts spoke that year at the luncheon and I was in awe.

How do you come up with the titles of your book?

It had a terrible non sci fi title before. The publisher bought it on contingent I’d be willing to change the name. So I brainstormed, polled people I worked with, slept on the choices, then boom the Zoastra Affair. The ship is the Zoastra. And Ariel’s story could be considered an Affair. I thought Thomas Crown Affair.

How long does it take you to finish a novel?

Depends entirely on the novel. I wrote one in five days once. We’ll call that unusual and some spirit must have been guiding me. It’s surprisingly really good. Most take me two to three months. The Zoastra Affair took about two years though. So everyone is different.


How can readers connect with you?

Author’s Website

Facebook

Twitter

Tumblr

Pinterest

Linkedin

Google+


What are you working on now?
The sequel to the Zoastra Affair and a contemporary about a girl from Miami


Do you have any other books already released?

Self publishing under Greta Buckle there are two more. However, Victoria Pinder, my real name, has more coming out in 2014. Chaperoning Paris comes out in March.

2 thoughts on “Interview With Victoria Pinder (The Zoastra Affair, Science Fiction)

Leave a Reply

