Interview With Kate Deveaux (Academy of Love, Erotic Romance)

academy-of-love_cover-art

Kate 4873 2 head edited copy

In your own words, please describe your book….

Academy of Love is a tale of lovers reunited, a sizzling and sensual journey that takes place in the prim and proper setting of an all girls’ boarding school. When Cassianna returns to her old alma mater, now as deputy Headmistress, she must deal with her past. Lucky for her, it’s a very hunky past!

What is the genre?

Erotic Romance

What inspired you to write Academy of Love?

Well, they say write what you know!  I did go to an all girls’ boarding school, so the setting seemed perfect for a fiery romance set against the backdrop of the confines of traditional boarding school life. Plus, I loved to ride when I was younger, so the Equestrian element was there for me. The ‘lovers reunited’ theme I enjoy, especially if there is a messy past and scorching sexual tension between the hero and the heroine.

Academy of Love is published through Red Sage. At any point, did you consider self-publishing?

I haven’t considered it so far. My books are published with Red Sage, Total E Bound and Ellora’s Cave. I really appreciate the author support from my publishers for the editing, marketing, cover art, etc., so I’ve been happy with them. I do think self-publishing is always a valid option for all authors at any stage of the career.

Will this book be a standalone or part of the series?

ACADEMY OF LOVE is a stand-alone book right now, but I’d love to continue on with another book, focusing on Lawrence’s younger brother Tristan, and the whole Taylor clan and their women. Should be a very hot series with men like that!

You write some pretty sexy romances! How do you get inspired for the love scenes?

I have a very vivid imagination, so once my characters are getting romantic, it seems a natural progression to write the next scenes. As the sexual tension escalates, so do the scenes. For me, I just get in the head of the hero and heroine and keep typing. No special setting required, other than no distractions. I find for a sex scene, I’ve got to keep the tone of the scene going and all the body parts accounted for!

Where can readers find your book?

Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Red Sage.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

Guess now isn’t the time to be shy. I love to write, the hotter the better, and other than that I play tennis whenever I can, love to cook and entertain. I’m a keen traveller, next on my list is Provence. Still swooning over the setting in ‘A Good Year.’ Mr. Deveaux and I now live in Arizona and he’s the best thing that ever happened to me. Did I mention I’m a die hard romantic?

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

Didn’t know how to type when I started writing books, used to write long hand. Totally self taught and sometimes it really shows!

Who are your favorite authors?

A few of my favorites are: Opal Carew, Maya Banks, Desiree Holt, Elin Hilderbrand, Wendy Wax, Cathy Kelly, and Sarah Jio…Oh the list just goes on and on. It seems I come across new ones everyday that I just love.

How can readers connect with you?

I’m on FB, Twitter, and Goodreads.

What are you working on now?

I have two new releases coming out 2014: PLATINUM PLEASURES, about a curvy older woman/younger man and one wicked case of mistaken identity and BRIDE UNDONE, a bride who takes “I DO” to a whole new level. Just not with the groom. Just finishing up BIMINI BOUND, a work outing aboard a yacht in the Bahamas becomes one sexy romp at sea and a few other sizzling stories.

Thank you so much for having me stop by to chat, it’s been fun!

One thought on “Interview With Kate Deveaux (Academy of Love, Erotic Romance)

Leave a Reply

