Author Interview: J Richardson With Her Book The Days After – Big River (Dystopian)

bigrivercvr3

In your own words, please describe your book…

The Days After (Big River) follows the adventures of four survivors, after a catastrophic event  stops America dead in it’s tracks. Clay, is the owner of a tourist paddle wheeler in New Orleans He joins with his long time friend, Louis, the friend’s wife and son and his brand new employee, Angel and her small daughter in a long journey up hundreds of miles and two wide rivers. The four and the children will travel through the perilous changed world and struggle to reach the haven of Clay’s brother’s farm in country side of South Dakota. They will need the strength of their unity to face the unexpected dangers and new bonds will grow from that unity.

What is the genre?

My book is dystopian fiction.

What inspired you to write this book?

I have become very interested in the “prepping” philosophy. That led me to reading apocalyptic types of fiction and eventually to my own surprise, to writing it.
Will this book be a standalone or part of the series?

My joy in writing comes from “living” my stories. To be honest, I am never sure if there will be another book, until I am through with the present one.

What message would you like to convey with this book? 

I do believe that you can’t go wrong by being prepared for unexpected disasters. The world and life is unpredictable, being unprepared could leave you with very few choices. My books are about family unity and values and the strengths that were once common to Americans.

What books are similar to this one?

Many science fiction, dystopian novels, which have become popular recently. I am not a fan of zombies and have to believe that the scenarios are possible.  One of my favorite series was the Apocalypsis series by Elle Casey.

Where can readers find your book?

My book is available as an e-book on Kindle, Barnes & Noble Nook and Kobo.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book? 

I am not a young gal, have lived in Texas all my life. My heart will always be there, but these days, the hubby and I split our time between “home” and a summer cabin in Colorado. This “author” experience  is new to me and has been a fascinating adventure. I have always loved to write, the amazing internet has made it possible to share that passion with more readers than would have ever been possible before.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know? 

That I enjoy people and have always been outgoing, yet I am perfectly happy with my own company. I am somewhat of a loner, actually.

How can readers connect with you? 

richardsonjo66@gmail.com

What are you working on now?

My mind is traveling down the path that continues past the end of The Days After (Big River)

Do you have any other books released? What is your next release? 

I have four previous books, No Normal Day, No Normal Day II (Unity), No Normal Day III (West) and No Normal Day IV (Travelers) in the e-book format.  There are two paperback volumes, NND and NND II in a single volume and NND III and IV in another.  No firm date for the next book, most likely about two months from now.
One thought on “Author Interview: J Richardson With Her Book The Days After – Big River (Dystopian)

Leave a Reply

