Author Interview with Bryan Caron and His Book: In the Light of the Eclipse (Young Adult)

Eclipse_Book_Cover

In your own words, describe your book…

In the Light of the Eclipse is the story of Zoe and Kayla, best friends who try and find a way to end an eclipse that darkens their home and takes the lives of everyone over the age of seventeen once every seventeen years. Because Kayla has just turned eighteen, she only has two weeks left before the eclipse takes her life, and she’ll do anything to stop it from happening—including and beyond defying the goddess, Heather—if it means spending more time with her little sister, Lenny, who she feels won’t be able to cope once she’s gone. But when Kayla is sentenced to death for her blasphemous ways, Zoe becomes her last hope of survival. When a mysterious traveler named Brittany arrives claiming that she knows a way to end the eclipse, it’s a race against time for Zoe to find out the truth behind Heather’s curse and save her best friend’s life—and that of everyone she’s ever known and loved.

What is the genre?

Now that’s a hard question to answer, especially right off the bat. First and foremost, it’s a young adult novel. Beyond that, it gets a little sticky because it has several elements interwoven throughout, from mystery to romance to drama, with some supernatural aspects thrown in for good measure. If I were to classify it, though, I guess it would be a romantic young adult drama.

What inspired you to write In the Light of the Eclipse?

That is a fun story. Every Christmas Eve, my aunt has holds a party for family and close friends. Several of the kids (including my niece and nephew) didn’t believe me when I told them that I write. So, I told them to come up with a story and I’d do my best to write a book about it. They spent a couple of hours talking about characters and situations they would like to see in the book, and upon returning home, I wrote those thoughts down and added my own touches to fill in the gaps. The story sat for several years, but every time I see them, I thought of this story, and though it has evolved from that initial brainstorm, this is the book that I promised them I’d write.

Will this book be a standalone or part of the series?

This book is meant to be a standalone book, but you can never count out a sequel (or a prequel) should the inspiration hit.

What message would you like to convey with In the Light of the Eclipse?

The core message of the book is the how true friendships can overcome any obstacle, and that when you love someone, you will do anything for them, because love lives forever.

What books are similar to this one?

I like to say that my book is Twilight without the vampires, werewolves and witches. I know that will alienate a lot of the fan base, but you can’t please everyone all the time.

Where can readers find In the Light of the Eclipse?

They will be able to purchase the book at Amazon in both print and digital formats on November 26, 2013. Over the weeks following, it will appear on other websites, including Barnes and Noble. Anyone should also be able to order a print copy from their local bookstores.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

I am a jack of many trades. I got my Bachelor Degree in Creative Writing, which is of course my first love, whether it be novels, short stories or screenplays. Along with my growing list of novels, I’ve also written several screenplays, some of which I’ve also produced and directed. My editing skills, both in print and video, are always growing as well. To pay the bills, though, I work as a graphic designer and have used those skills to format my books and create my covers. Aside from that, I’m a fun, mostly reserved dude that holds a high amount of integrity in both my professional and personal life. I hate hypocrites and liars, and do my best to always be on time, deliver projects ahead of schedule and keep a honest demeanor in everything I say and do. Basically, I follow the golden rule as best I can.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

That’s a tough one, because I am an extremely private person. I guess that might be the best answer I can give right now.

How can readers connect with you?

Readers can visit to my blog or my website, visit me on Goodreads, and follow me on Facebook.

What are you working on now?

I’m going to begin writing Memoirs of Keladrayia: Jaxxa Rakala, the second book in the four-part Jaxxa Rakala series, sometime in December. I’m also putting the finishing touches on a Kickstarter Campaign for a screenplay I wrote and am looking to raise the finances for. More information will follow on my website when it becomes available. I’ve also got a few other projects I’m working on as an editor, and still others in several different capacities.

Do you have any other books released? What is your next release?

My next book release will be Memoirs of Keladrayia: Jaxxa Rakala in the summer of 2014. My other published works include Jaxxa Rakala: The Search (a science-fiction adventure for general audiences) and Year of the Songbird (a more literary sci-fi drama geared toward adults, as there is a lot of adult language and adult situations in this one). I also have a couple of short stories on my blog and several films that are geared toward young teens and young adults for sale on the site as well.

One thought on “Author Interview with Bryan Caron and His Book: In the Light of the Eclipse (Young Adult)

Leave a Reply

