Author Interview: A.M. Harris With Her Book – The Broke Man’s Survival Guide (Nonfiction)

broke

What is the genre?

Non-Fiction/Self-Help


What inspired you to write this book?

 

I wanted to help people. People are really struggling to make it in this world. We see and read news stories about massive company closures due to economics or scandal that caused thousands to be out of work. After the news dies down, does anyone ever ask how are these people going to survive? What happens to them? Well I know all too well the answer to this question. As the Program Director of a large social service agency for more than 25 years, I saw people struggling to survive on a daily basis. There is no information available that they could relate to. This inspired me to write The Broke Man’s Survival Guide.

 


Will this book be a standalone or part of the series?

Standalone

 


What message would you like to convey with this book?

 

That people who are dead broke and near rock bottom can pull themselves back up and succeed.


What books are similar to this one?

 

There are a lot of books that focus on overcoming debt, but they seem to be geared towards a population of people who are in a position to do something about it and tend to convey a budgeting strategy approach. My book reaches a population of people who are often ignored: the unemployed, underpaid and dead broke!


Where can readers find your book?

 

My Website

 

Kindle

 

Kindle Paperback

 

Nook

 

Smashwords





Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

 

Helping people has always been a personal mission of mine, which is why I worked in the social service arena for more than 25 years. When I was in high school, I dreamt of being a playwright. I wrote several plays in high school and entered the NAACP ACT-SO competition in 1984 where I won 1st place in playwriting. However, aside from writing a few plays for youth to perform at the community center, my calling was geared towards helping those most in need. I began using my writing abilities to write grants that would help provided programs that would help improve the quality of live for those struggling in our community.

 


Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

 

In addition to being the program director, I was also a grant writer and raised over 5,000,000 for the social service agency I worked for. I am also the single-mother of 4.


How can readers connect with you?

 

My Blog

My Email: amharris@thebrokemansurvivalguide.com


What are you working on now?

 

I developed a pamphlet series entitled: How to Survive Hard Times to help social service agencies help their clients. (www.amharpub.com) I am working on marketing that product in addition to The Broke Man’s Survival Guide.


Do you have any other books released? What is your next release?

 

No

 

Leave a Reply

