Author Interview D.L. Johnson and Her Book: Beautiful Scars (Inspirational)

Beautiful_Scars_Cover_for_Kindle

In your own words, describe your book….

It’s definitely a survival story. It’s an emotional journey of a woman coming from not the best circumstances finding her way through life and finding the strength to do it.

What is the genre?

I would classify the book as inspiration women’s fiction.

What inspired you to write this book?

Life really. I have seen a lot of women, myself included, go through so many ups and downs in life and I wanted to write a story that all woman could relate too. Even though some of the issues that Chantelle deals with may not happen to all of us I wanted to portray the emotions she feels while dealing with life issues and how she handles them. I think that’s something we all can relate too.

Will this book be a standalone or part of the series?

This will be a standalone book although I would like to write others in the same genre.

What message would you like to convey with Beautiful Scars?

To keep going! No matter what life throws at you and how many times you get knocked down or how many mistakes you make to keep trying.

What books are similar to this one?

I think this book stands out by itself but it is a survival story. Any book that deals with real life issues that women go through and the emotions that come along with it could be in a similar genre.

Where can readers find your book?

Beautiful Scars is currently being sold on Amazon in paperback and kindle.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

Well, I’ve been married for three and a half years and have three boys. I have been writing since I was a little girl and hope to entertain and also inspire with my books. I work full time and am really only able to work on my writing part time. Hopefully that will change one day and I can write full time. I committed to writing for at least an hour a day for almost a year. There was a lot of late nights but I finally finished and hope to write many more, even if it means many more late nights.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

I have to have sweets when I write and in the process I think I have become addicted to cotton candy, lol.

How can readers connect with you?

I am on Facebook, Twitter, and GoodReads. I can also be contacted directly through email, asistaswordz@gmail.com

What are you working on now?

Right now, I’m primarily working on promoting my novel. It’s my first one and there is a lot that goes into just getting my name out there and becoming established as a writer. But it is going pretty good and the response has been so positive. I am also a mother of two teenage boys that play high school sports and have a rambunctious two year old that keep me pretty busy.

Do you have any other books released? What is your next release?

I have a book of poems called Words from a Sista which was released a few years ago. It’s a collection of poetry that I wrote when I was younger and decided to publish a few years ago. I haven’t started working another book as of yet but I have a few ideas and hope to start one soon.

Leave a Reply

