Author Interview: Charlotte Gerber with Murder In Middleton (Paranormal Mystery)

middletoncover

What is the genre?

The genre is paranormal mystery.  I wrote it with young adults in mind, but adults seem to enjoy it too.

What inspired you to write Murder in Middleton?

An experience I had as a teenager.  I believed that I had seen a ghost in our barn, and had heard one in our house (both the house and barn had been built before the Civil War).  Previous residents had thought the house was haunted too.  Someone supposedly died in the upstairs of our house in a fire, but no one was able to substantiate the story until we did a house renovation about ten years ago.  We discovered severe burn marks across the wall and rafters.  Perhaps the house and barn really are haunted.

Will this book be a standalone or part of the series?

For the time being, it is a standalone.  However, I am in the process of writing a Christmas novella about Victoria and Shannon.  No murder involved in this one, however.

What message would you like to convey with Murder in Middleton?

It is okay to be different.  High school is difficult for everyone, and perhaps even more so for individuals who believe they have paranormal experiences.  It is important to cultivate one or two good friends that you can share your problems with, and sometimes those friends can be adults too.

What books are similar to this one?

Honestly, I don’t have an answer for this one.  I didn’t set out to write a book that was like any other.  I wrote the story back in 2003 when I had two children in diapers.  Writing it was a creative outlet for me when I could get the children to take a nap.

Where can readers find your book?

Murder in Middleton is currently available on Amazon.com, Barnes and Noble, and CreateSpace.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

My friends laugh when I say this, but I live in the middle of nowhere it seems.  I live in a rural community with a lot of Amish neighbors.  There are no traffic lights, no police, and we’re one of the few towns left that won’t allow any liquor sales.  My home is almost on the top of a mountain, and in the mornings it is quite foggy.  My children and I raise a variety of chickens; I think at last count we had about fifty of them, along with eight ducks.  I currently have ten cats and a dog as well, and most of them are rescues.

 

I like to write in my little office in the downstairs of my home on a laptop, and my desk is an antique secretary.  I tend to eat chocolate and drink a lot of coffee when I’m writing.  Only cats are allowed to disturb me when I’m writing, unless there is a crisis of epic proportions that demands my attention.  Luckily, those types of situations don’t happen here very often.

 

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

I’m a classically trained singer, and I’m still taking voice lessons.  For me, it is a form of therapy that I always make time for.  I don’t perform often, however, so don’t expect to see me on YouTube anytime soon.

 

How can readers connect with you?

Readers can connect with me on my website, CharlotteGerber.com, on Twitter @gerberink, and on Facebook. I’ve also just joined GoodReads.

What are you working on now?

I’m always in the middle of multiple projects as it keeps me from getting writer’s block.  I’m finishing Curiosity Killed the Cat, and then I’ll complete A Very Merry Middleton Christmas.  After those two are put to bed, I’ll be working on a sequel to I Dream of Zombies.  I also have a creepy, yet humorous, vampire novel in the works.

Do you have any other books released? What is your next release?

My most recent release is I Dream of Zombies, which was released on Halloween.  My next planned release is A Very Merry Middleton Christmas, which I hope to have out in December this year.

 

One thought on “Author Interview: Charlotte Gerber with Murder In Middleton (Paranormal Mystery)

Leave a Reply

