Night Chill by Jeff Gunhus Supernatural Thriller

Night Chill New Cover 7-3

In your own words, describe your book….

Night Chill is a supernatural thriller in the vein of Stephen King and Dean Koontz (who I love.) A cult in a small mountain town abducts a young girl and her father stops at nothing to get her back. In the process, he discovers the cult guards an ancient evil and that the cult’s influence infiltrates deep into the small town. The mystery keeps you guessing and, while there is a brief appearance by a creature, the biggest scares come from real people who can be the greatest monsters of all. 

Click here to buy Night Chill on Amazon!



What is the genre? 

Supernatural thriller/horror


What inspired you to write this book?


As a father of five, the protagonist’s blind rage at the people who want to harm his family is something that I can tap into very easily. The sequences in the limestone caves in Maryland were written after my own claustrophobic climb through tiny tunnels deep underground. “I have to use this is a novel” was the one thought that kept me from totally freaking out. 




Will Night Chill be a standalone or part of the series?


I originally wrote this as a standalone but I left an opening at the end of the book for a series. The great response to the book has caused me to revisit writing a follow-up. The series could follow Jack and Joseph Lonetree as they discover other cults or follow the two girls and how their experience has changed them (no spoilers!)




What message would you like to convey with this book


I dissect the means justified the ends from all angles. Can you justify human medical trials (without patient permission) if the trials could save the lives of millions? Can murder be justified if it would save your child’s life? In the end, I try to argue that the means are important, but acknowledge that the world is filled with Sophie’s choice moments that challenge our sense of right and wrong in ways we can’t anticipate. 




What books are similar to this one?


The King books that are more atmospheric and follow a protagonist fighting for his own sanity…The Shining, Pet Sematary, Thinner.



 

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?


I live in Maryland with my wife and five kids. They keep me busy but I still find time to run a national home services company and write at least one novel and one screenplay a year. I love movies, books, and story in any form. I wrote the Jack Templar Monster Hunter series for my kids and Night Chill for my adult friends who wanted something a little more intense. I’m so appreciative of the amazing response I’ve received for all my books. 




Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?


I grew up overseas in Greece, Cyprus and Saudi Arabia. My early memories were swimming the Mediterranean, crawling on Roman ruins and walking the souks and spice markets of the Middle East. 




How can readers connect with you?


I can be reached at www.JeffGunhus.com

Twitter @jtmonsterhunter

FB /jacktemplarmonsterhunter



What are you working on now? 


I just finished the first draft of a new novel for adults about a serial killer in Annapolis, tentatively titled Killer Instinct. 




Do you have any other books released? What is your next release?

I have a MG/YA series called Jack Templar Monster Hunter.  I release Book #3 of the Jack Templar series on October 1st, Jack Templar and the Lord of the Vampires. The serial killer novel will be released Spring 2014.  


Giveaway:

Jeff is hosting a giveaway for a $25 Amazon Gift Card! The giveaway starts at 12 AM Eastern Time on 9/30/13 and ends 10/29/13 at 12 AM. Click here to enter through Rafflecopter!

nightchilltourbanner

2 thoughts on “Night Chill by Jeff Gunhus Supernatural Thriller

Leave a Reply

