Stillwell: A Haunting on Long Island by Michael Phillip Cash Paranormal

stillwell_book_300dpi_-_front_cover

In your own words, describe your book….
Stillwell A Haunting On Long Island is the story of a family shattered when they lose the lynch pin of their group- the mom. It takes place the day after her funeral and deals with the family coping with their new reality.  When the father, a realtor, decides to go back to work, he takes on a house with a historic and gloomy past. Soon, he can’t tell if he’s being haunted or going crazy. He begins to wonder if his wife’s ghost is trying to communicate with him. Could she be held captive by a demon, or is his grief making him imagine strange things? His destiny is tied to an old wishing well on the property and he finds himself tangled with the ghosts that haunt Stillwell Manor to discover the truth about his own family.



What is the genre?
I think this book is a  paranormal ghost story, with a bit of horror and romance mixed in.



What inspired you to write this book?
There is a house on Long Island called Raynam Hall and is said to be haunted by a Revolutionary War ghost looking for his sweetheart- the young lady who lived there.  They were on opposite sides of the rebellion, and there was a hint of some spying involving Benedict Arnold.  I incorporated parts of this story into my own.  I have gone to psychics my whole life and have had contact with relatives on the other side.  I used these experiences in the book as well.  My Mom took care of my Dad when he was diagnosed with lung cancer, and I had a front row seat for the whole treatment.  I watched her take care of him and was amazed with the depth of their love.  I don’t think there was anything she wouldn’t have done for him and it made me wonder how far you would go if a loved one needed you from the “other side”. Enter Paul and his deep love for his wife. He is drawn into the realm of unbelievable for him- because he would do anything for the woman he loves. Even risk his own life.



Will this book be a standalone or part of the series?
People fell in love with the character Molly and the physic Georgia Oaken.  I may have them doing an exorcism in the next book I am working on.  Perhaps they will have an adventure together.



What message would you like to convey with this book?
Love  never dies.  You may be separated by time and eternity- but the love stays.



What books are similar to this one?
I think from the romance aspect- it may have a resemblance to Nicholas Sparks.  I have just started reading the genre.  I didn’t start out to write a ghost story, or a horror story. It was a story about a grieving family and involves ghost and haunting.  When writers say the story wrote itself, I have to say that’s what happened.  I didn’t have a plan when I began this book. The characters told me where they wanted to go. Once I had my cast of characters, it took off on it’s own.  I had no idea where it was going to end up, when I started it. I really had fun writing this book and I have to say, I loved each and every character in it.



Where can readers find your book?
Stillwell A Haunting on Long Island can be found most easily on Amazon, or Kindle.  You can also get it through Barnes and Noble.  We have an audible version of the book as well.  Dan McGowan was amazing in his retelling of the story.



Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

I am married to the girl of my dreams and the father of two remarkable children. We live in Long Island, near where I was raised in a beautiful community. I have written screen plays since I was sixteen and have recently won sixth place in a screenplay contest.  Hopefully, that book Brood X: A Firsthand Account of the Great Cicada Invasion will get made into a movie.  I have worked in publicity, retail and was head of sales in a huge company until I left to write full time.



Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?
I am a hopeless romantic.



How can readers connect with you?
I always respond  to questions on my Facebook page.  I can be reached at michaelphillipcash@gmail.com.



What are you working on now?
I am working on several different projects.  I am putting the final edits on my novella The Hanging Tree due out within a few weeks.  It is the story of a young girl on the crossroads of life and where her choices may take her. She is being drawn into a terrible cosmic web of horror by spirits that inhabit a tree in her neighborhood.  I have two other unnamed projects, both involving ghosts and one of them is based on a true story.



Do you have any other books released? What is your next release?
Brood X: A Firsthand Account of the Great Cicada Invasion is my first book.  I wrote it originally  as a screenplay and then turned it into a novel. I was heavily influenced by the disaster Super Storm Sandy that devastated the tri state area last year. We were not prepared and there were terrible consequences. It’s highly sarcastic and meant to skewer the narcissistic people who believed that nothing was ever going to happen to them. While people complained they did not like the characters, I want to say, they weren’t supposed to- they were lazy, self involved, and just plain stupid. Their change is what makes them likable.  I did have a lot of fun with it, and think the book is quite funny.


Watch for The Hanging Tree coming to Amazon and Kindle in a few weeks.



stillwelltourbanner



Giveaway:

Michael Phillip Cash is giving away five prizes! The grand prize is $50 through PayPal and a signed copy of his book. Four other winners will win a signed copy of Stillwell: A Haunting on Long Island. This giveaway starts at 9/23/13 at 12 AM Eastern Time and ends 10/22/13 at 12 AM Eastern Time. Enter through Rafflecopter! Open Internationally, must be 18 or over to enter.

Click here to enter!

One thought on “Stillwell: A Haunting on Long Island by Michael Phillip Cash Paranormal

Leave a Reply

